June is for…

1. Jam!

001 017

Last weekend, I picked strawberries and made my first freezer jam. It was super easy to make, and the results are spectacular!
I don't think I'll ever go back to store bought. Not when there are so many delicious fruits to experiment with!
I am not usually a fan of sugar free jam from the store, but I substituted the sugar for Splenda and it worked fine. There is so much fresh strawberry flavor here, I don't miss the sugar at all. (I used Ball Simple Creations No Cook Fruit Pectin. I don't think you can just go swapping sugar and Splenda willy nilly… it really depends on your pectin. So be careful!)

2. Bread!

019

 023

028

Because you need homemade bread to go with homemade jam, right? I don't think it gets any better, really.

Of course, June is not just for eating things. More on my summer fiber pursuits coming soon.!

I would like to give a
way a jar of jam to a blog reader in the Metro-Louisville area. If you want one, leave
me a comment and I'll pick someone at random on 06/12/2009. I wish I could open this
little contest up to everyone, but I don't think I can put this stuff in
the mail, so you also win my delightful in-person delivery. Yay! (Oh, and
if you're interested in making your own, Erin put up this really nice
tutorial
. I promise you, it is sooooo worth it!)

3 Comments »

  1. Allison said

    it looks like you shot that slice of bread… muuuurrrrder… sweet, delicious, muuuurrrder

  2. Jessie said

    You’re so domestic, jammit! Looks delicious, felony committed or not.

  3. Stephani said

    Mmmm, jam and bread. Did you also have your tea?

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

