Finished Object: Lettuce Leaf Shawl

030

022
 

028 

036

Cast On: November 10, 2008

Finished: January 26, 2009

Pattern: Leaf Shawl from Evelyn A. Clark's Knitting Lace Triangles, a resource I recommend highly. (Rav link)

Yarn
: Malabrigo Silky Merino in Lettuce, almost all of five skeins

Needle: Addi Turbo Size 7 circular needle, 24" and 40" length

Mods: I did 16 repeats of the lace pattern, plus the border.

Final Thoughts: I started this project with so much gusto, but the long (long!) rows gradually wore me down. I started having doubts. I went for my instinct and used a size 7, but worried about it the whole time. I almost ripped out and went up a size countless time. By the end, I had convinced myself that it was going to be too heavy. It was going to be too small. It was going to be a piece of crap and I was never going to wear it.

But, I wanted my needle back and ripping it out didn't sound any more appealing than just sucking it up and finishing it, so that's what I did. And I'm so glad! Blocking a piece of a lace is just as magical as everyone says it is. I hope every knitter will give it a try, at least once. It's completely exhilarating!

I was aiming for a shawl about 72 x 36, but it came out to be 80 x 40. I think on a more petite person it might be kind of overwhelming. On me, it's big, but not too big- just right! It's been getting lots of wear time, and there are definitely more shawls in my future. Now that I've conquered lace in a DK weight, I feel much more confident about trying laceweight. But that's another post!

Some gratuitous lace blocking pictures:

007 

010
 
 

011 

We had major ice storms last week, as you can see in the pictures. It was kind of crazy around here, but things are pretty much back to normal, for us anyway. I know a lot of people are still out of power, and I hope it comes back on soon for them! I think we can safely resume our regular posting schedule. Tomorrow, I'll be covering the Superbowl Sale at the Knit Nook! I hope to see a lot of you there! You just might get to see the Lettuce Leaf Shawl in action…

4 Comments »

  1. M Ward said

    Ooooo, so pretty!

  2. Holly said

    Your shawl is gorgeous! I love the pictures in the snow. I wish we had some snow.

  3. Kim said

    Your shawl is GORGEOUS! Evelyn Clark is an awesome resource.

  4. Jessie said

    Stunning! Seriously. And it fits you really well, like it was…well…made for you!

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

