Random Friday

I seem to be having one of those weeks. Bloggable things are piling up around me faster than I can keep up, and if I don't get my act together I'll be lost forever under an avalanche of unwritten posts. Feast or famine- the nature of the knit-blogging beast.

1. At last year's Superbowl Sale at the Knit Nook, I bought a ridiculous quantity of some Silky Wool. 19 balls of it were an unappealing taupe color. I've always thought I would dye it up into something better, and a couple days ago I finally got around to it. I divvied up one ball into five mini skeins and used this article and a few packets of Kool Aid to dye them up.

Before:

Blah. Taupe. Blah.
001

After:

Fabulous! Delightful!
004

Prior forays into dyeing with Kool Aid, onto plain white wool, have yielded yarns that were a little too Technicolor bright for me, but it really transformed my boring Silky Wool into yarn with panache! They are still bright, but subdued enough to make me happy. The silk and wool took up the dye differently, which really gives it some depth and interest. Now the hard part will be deciding which color I like the best. (From left to right, the flavors are Black Cherry, Kiwi Strawberry, Lemon Lime, Blue Raspberry, and Strawberry.)

2. I have fallen head over heels in love with this sweater (Rav link) from Wendy Barnard's Custom Knits. The Silky Wool now has a destiny, whatever color I choose.

3. I got a review copy of the first issue of Handknit Heroes! Woohoo! I haven't finished reading it yet, and therefore cannot give a proper review. But, as you can see, I'm enjoying it so far.

001

4. My Roselette Top the Second still has no buttons, and no pictures of an adorable 15 month old girl modeling it. This is  a situation which should be remedied today or tomorrow. (At last!)

5. I'm so close to victory over the Lace Leaf Shawl! There is still hope of having it done, if not blocked, over the weekend.

6. I am feeling the urge to crochet about a million pairs of these adorable Mary Janes. (She sells the pattern in sizes baby – adult. I'm just saying… matching slippers for yourself and a little girl in your life? Who could resist??)

4 Comments »

  1. Allison said

    that sweater is really nice. do please bring the book tomorrow.

  2. Colleen said

    I love the colors you dyed the Silky Wool. They will knit so beautifully. Hurry up and show the 15 month old model. Colleen

  3. M Ward said

    Oh my god. A graphic novel for knitters? That is kitsch to the max. I just may have to get it.

  4. Jessie said

    lemon-lime! i cannot believe a little kool-aid can do so much awesome.

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

