Finished Object: Roselette Top

005 - Copy 

006 - Copy

Pattern: Roselette Top from Chez Plum. I had seen it on Ravelry and liked it okay, but what really inspired me to make it was seeing it here on Anna Maria Horner's blog. The buttons are "supposed to" go in the back, but I love how her daughters decided to wear them in the front! 

Yarn: South West Trading Company Karaoke, 50/50 Wool and Soysilk, color Wild Cherry. I'm very pleased with this yarn. The color repeats were plenty long enough for crochet. I had this up for trade for a long time, but I was magnetically drawn to it when I went stash diving for this project. Kismet! Fate! Serendepity!

Hook: Susan Bates Aluminum, size H (5.0 mm)

Mods: I didn't use a second color to do the single crochet around the bottom, middle, neck and sleeves. I like that design feature, but I didn't have anything handy that coordinated with my yarn, so I just used what I had. Next time, I would definitely like to use two colors.

Final Thoughts: The lesson I learned with this top is that it's not good enough to just make the gauge swatch. You really have to wash the damn thing if it's going to do you any good. The good news is, the stitches really blossomed in the blocking process. The bad news is that the top, which fit Iris just fine before blocking, is really too big now. (Notice that she's not modeling for me today!) I guess that's not the end of the world either- just means that she'll be able to wear it through next fall and winter as well. If I had it to do over again, I might go down a hook size or two. Actually, I would have to go down two sizes because we are missing the size between H and G here. Why don't we have 4.5 mm hooks in the U.S.? Does anyone know where I can get one?

All in all, I find the finished project perfectly charming. This is officially my new go to project for the little girls in my life. In fact, I've already started a second one. Hopefully, Iris won't have to wait so long to wear this one!

008 - Copy

5 Comments »

  1. Holly said

    Very Cute!

  2. Colleen said

    Holly, it is so pretty. I know Iris will look like a doll in it. Colleen

  3. M Ward said

    Someday I’ll actually crochet. Maybe. Possibly.

  4. They are both very cute ! Just read about you looking for a 4.5 mm hook, and I guess you could easily find it online (think ebay or etsy – I actually have one in my etsy store). Or come for a visit in France… ! 😛
    Sylv

  5. Tara said

    Holly! OMG! That is BEYOND cute!!! Does it come in 3-6 month old sizes?!?

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

