Best Yet

New yarn is good! New yarn that you spun yourself is A-W-E-S-O-M-E!!!

002

005

My most recent handspun came from 3.5 oz. of sparkly Shetland from Greyside Farms. (They don't have a website- and believe me, I looked!) I bought it at the Southern Indiana Fiber Arts Festival. It was a great roving, and I will definitely be stocking up on this stuff if I am lucky enough to find them again next year!

It doesn't really come through in the photos, but the yarn is imbibed with this beautiful, subtle glitz, on top of a heathery mauve. I haven't measured it for WPI, but I'm guessing it to be about a DK. It's not perfect, but definitely more even than previous attempts. I was especially happy with my ply job. I intentionally plied it much tighter than I have done in the past. and I was pretty much convinced that it was going to end up being a mess. But that's part of the magic of spinning- when the fresh yarn hits the water, it relaxes and loses a lot of that twist, so you really need to overtwist it to get it to come out just right. (That's the quick and dirty explanation- for a superb article on plying and twist, I would check out this article over at Abby's Yarns.)

The most surprising thing about this yarn is the softness of it. When I hear the word Shetland, I think of super rugged, scratchy wool. This stuff isn't cashmere, but it's certainly not a brillo pad either. Definitely suitable for next to the skin wear, at least for me.

I'm not 100% sure what I'm doing with it yet, but I'm really leaning towards Porom, one of the newish hat patterns from Brooklyn Tweed. One can never have enough slouchy hats. Slouchy is the new black, I hear.

3 Comments »

  1. Heather said

    Beautiful. I have a strange affinity for purple even though I don’t knit with it often.

  2. Katie said

    Ooooh, Holly that’s pretty! I am so envious of your spinning skills!!!

  3. allison said

    that’s what I hear too!

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

