Liesl, Plus

011

All it took was a little nudge from Tonya to send me plummeting over
the edge from startitis to casting on. I took my Violetas Malabrigo (Rav link) off the market and cast
on for my very own Liesl (Rav link) last night. I mentioned yesterday that I was
worried that the sweater might be unflattering on a person of my size,
but the larger versions of the sweater on Ravelry changed my mind. Amy of Knitty made a lovely one that is pictured in the pattern. This one is my personal favorite- doesn't she just look charming?

So
far, the pattern is pretty charming too- well written and laid out in
an easy to follow, visually pleasing way. There are lots of options for yarns, necklines, buttons and length. The biggest downside for those of us in America is that it calls for a 7.0 mm needle, which is in between a US size 10 1/2 and 11. I started out on an 11, but I think I'm going to frog it and go for a 10 1/2. I know it's supposed to be loose, but it feels a little too loose. I'm knitting the biggest size, high neckline, long sleeves, and probably 3 – 5 buttonholes, just depending.

My big goal for the weekend is to finish up my holiday knitting, which isn't too much of a stretch. Besides that, I just got a lovely holiday themed batt from Squambo that needs to be spun up before Christmas, or risk sitting in the stash till next year. More on that tomorrow!

Leave a comment