About a Boteh

237

The Boteh scarf (Rav link) is trucking along. It's amazing how fast you can crochet yourself a scarf out of fingering weight yarn when the scarf in question is so hard to put down!

I'm not a very good or experienced crocheter, even though I learned to crochet before I learned to knit. However, this pattern is extremely intuitive. Once you get through the first couple of motifs, it's just repetition. The most challenging part for me is getting the first three rows after the row of double-treble crochets (that's the open looking spaces between the triangles). Sometimes it's hard for me to tell the difference between an actual chain that needs a stitch in it from the turning chain. But I am getting a lot better at correcting mistakes as I go, instead of finishing a whole triangle only to find out that I missing rows.

Also, I've discovered that a chart in crochet is a beautiful, beautiful thing. I've never been able to figure out written crochet instructions, but the chart is super easy to understand. You can see where each and every stitch is supposed to go. You can compare what your piece looks like to the chart anytime you want, and if it doesn't look like the chart, you know that you've gone wrong somewhere! I would go so far as to say I wouldn't want to use a crochet pattern without a chart. It really makes that big of a difference!

I'm thinking after Boteh, my next crochet project might be the Queen Anne's Lace Scarf. Or one of the awesome Doris Chan shawls from Amazing Crochet Lace.

1 Comment »

  1. Jessie said

    i like the new winter theme! the boteh kind of looks like it’s dancing, and i dig it. i’m not ready to jump on the crochet bus, but i did use a crochet cast-on yesterday. oooh. aaah.

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

