They Come in Threes

Three bad things happened to me today. Nothing earth shattering or life altering. Mostly just annoying!

1. I made a mistake in the Lace Leaf Shawl that I couldn't figure out how to correct without ripping back, so it had to come off the needles. (And, I haven't worked up the gusto to put it back on the needles yet.)

2. My most favorite socks ever got a huge hole in the bottom of one, and is seriously thinning out in the other. I'm not sure if I should try to darn it, or patch it, or just knit some new ones. Except I can't really knit new ones because Allison knit these and new ones just won't be the same!

(Note: I already cast on for a pair of Log Cabin Socks (Rav link) in Eco Wool. Apparently, I have a very short grieving process.)

3. I finished plying my Hippie Art Chick yarn and during the twist-setting process it went from a bright and crazy hot pink and white to a much more muted dusty rose and lighter dusty rose. It's not really ugly, just not what I was expecting. I've never had a yarn/knitted object bleed like this stuff did. I washed and rinsed it 5 times, and pink water still comes out when you squeeze it so I gave up. Maybe I should have steam set it instead? Who knows. Maybe it will look better in the morning.

I'm not what you would call a superstitious person, but I do believe this thing about bad things coming in sets of three. Now that all three things have happened, I feel free to move on without worrying about the next thing, so that's a relief at least.

1 Comment »

  1. tonya said

    I can’t help with the first one except to say sorry, but Suzanne knows how to darn socks, I think, and vinegar is supposed to set dye (which I’m sure you know, but just in case.) You can also buy whatever chemical is used to set dye online – I don’t remember what it’s called, but I’m sure there are some hand dyers on Rav that could tell you.

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

