Spindles, Stripes and Shawls

Bunnybeast1

Don't worry, my wheel isn't broken! I decided to do some drop spindling this weekend for a few reasons.

1) I don't want my drop spindling skills, paltry though they may be, to get rusty.
2) The Babe is pretty darn portable, but still doesn't fit in my purse.
3) I only have two precious ounces of this fiber, and like any rare and beautiful thing I want to make it last as long as I can. The blend of merino, silk and angora make it pure spinning bliss. And the color! Oh, the color! (It's Bunny and the Beast from Fuzzarelly. I got mine at the fiber festival, but I'm holding out hope that I'll see some for sale online someday.)

Another portable project on the needles:

Noro1

Sock in the new-ish Noro Kureyon Sock. My plan was to just knit the sock plain and let the Noro do its thing, but the Yarn Harlot's recent posts about the Noro Striped Scarf (Rav link) inspired me to try changing colors every six rows. So far, I'm only about 14 rows in, but I like the results so far. Easily entertained much?

Progress on the Lace Leaf Shawl (Rav link) so far:

Laceleaf3

Still in love! The rows are definitely starting to get long, but not so long that it takes me a day and a half to get across one. I think I really will finish this thing. Not only am I enjoying the process, but I want the FO pretty darned bad. I keep picturing myself wrapped up in the merino/silk leafy goodness, and it looks so good in my head! Most of the time in this fantasy, I am sitting at a sidewalk cafe, sipping a latte. If I'm feeling especially "Rowan", I'm wearing it standing alone in a field, looking serious.

2 Comments »

  1. tonya said

    Pretty, pretty shawl! I am seriously DYING to make one. You, me and Liz need to finish some shawls, find a field, and do a Rowan photo shoot.
    & the color of that fiber is so autumny. Love!

  2. Allison said

    that spun yarn looks yolk-tastic!

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

