Three Sides, Three Angles

Laceleaf1

Laceleaf2

I bought Evelyn A. Clark's Knitting Lace Triangles at Rebelle on a whim. I'd never seen it available for purchase anywhere at home, but was intrigued by what I had heard of it in the knitting blogopsphere, and read Clara's article about it in Knitter's Review. I have all that laceweight yarn that I have no clue what to do with, so I figured I should get cracking on a plan for it. I didn't know that I was going to be so taken with the book that I would have to cast on for a shawl immediately, but that's what happened.

You might recall that earlier this year I cast on for a Swallowtail Shawl from the Fall 2006 issue of Interweave Knits. (Rav link) I ended up frogging it after struggling with the pattern for a couple weeks. Part of my problem was not understanding the basic mechanics of what I was making. Knitting Lace Triangles breaks it all down into managable pieces, then helps you plan a shawl for the size you want, with the yarn you want. I think with the help of this book, aided by the use of slightly thicker yarn and needles, I will finally have shawl success! (And after this, I'll be able to re-tackle Swallowtail, on my own terms! Bwahaha!)

This book is a real gem. I have plenty of beautifully photographed, coffee table style knitting books that, while nice in their own ways, don't pack even a fraction of the clarity and cleverness that comes in this simple spiral-bound booklet. If you have even a passing interest in lace knitting, this is definitely one to add to your library!

P.S. There was a little bobble love on Ishi's blog today. Love those mittens! Bobbles transcend cultural barriers. If I can find another bump of that alpaca roving in the same color as my cowl, I'm planning to spin it up and knit some coordinating mittens.

1 Comment »

  1. Emilee said

    What a pretty color! That will be lovely. Glad to hear “knitting lace triangles” is worth getting – Christmas is coming after all.

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

