Speaking Too Soon

Per my wishes in yesterday's post, today is a much cooler, damper, more sweater
appropriate day. Unfortunately, everything else about my
sweater-in-progress isn't cooperating! It's so frustrating to slog around a row of this thing, only to come up one stitch short at the end. This has happened to me more times than I can count! I have finally accepted the fact that this pattern is actually much smarter than me. It's two steps forward, one step back- and I'm only on the yoke!

At first, I figured my options are to either give up or keep struggling through. I think the best answer lies somewhere in the middle. I'm going to give it a rest over the weekend and come back to it next week. I really need my "leisure activity" to remain a leisure, if you know what I mean. This time, at least I know where the problem stems from- I tried to knit from a chart and keep an eye on Iris at the same time. Recipe for disaster, indeed!

If Wisteria continues to misbehave, I already have my eye on this vest. Isn't it scrumptious! I wish it was sized a little larger, but I like it so much that I might be willing to figure out how to make it bigger myself. I'm not sure how flattering it would be on me, but when has that ever stopped me?

In happier news, I got this incredibly beautiful yarn from Pigeonroof Studios this week. It's 1300 yards of Merino/Silk laceweight from The Luminosity Project. Luminous is the perfect word to describe it.

Prs-amethyst

This picture doesn't really capture the yarn's glow, but I like it anyway because you can see the leaves below my deck (and one of my Crocs. Tee hee.) The funny thing is, I'm not really a lace knitter. The yarn was so beautiful and special that I couldn't pass it up. While I wait for the perfect project to come along, I'll have plenty of fun starting at it and trying to count the different shades of purple.

1 Comment »

  1. tonya said

    Charts and babies aren’t friends. Good luck with Wisteria!
    (And I want to make the Print o’ the Wave stole, so if you get a hankering for lace and want a partner in crime, I don’t mind adding one more WIP to my huge list!)

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

