NaKniSweMo and Novelty

Nanoswemo

It's November, and that means it's National Knit a Sweater Month. Basically, it's a riff on NaNoWriMo, or National Novel Writing Month. I'm not officially participating in the knitalong fun, because 

a) I'm not in the mood for any more obligatory knitting this soon after Hat Attack, and
b) I already have umpteen sweaters in progress and can't justify starting a new one.

But I love a good sweater as much as the next knitter, so I thought it would be fun to celebrate sweaters this month on the blog. I'll be working on some of my sweaters in progress, talking about sweaters, readings sweater filled books, dreaming about sweaters… you get the idea.

I'm taking my Wisteria (Rav link) out of hibernation, at least for this month. Here's the picture I took of it way back in August.

Wisteria1

Honestly, it hasn't progressed a whole lot past that point. I took a break for the Ravelympics and then lost serious steam. This is something I've learned about myself and knitting over the last year- I really need to try to start and finish things during my initial period of enthusiasm. If I "take a break", I'm probably never coming back. Except in the case of Wisteria of course! Amazingly, even after a few months, I still love it. Those serpentine cables… that delicate-yet-mysterious purple… the idea of Malabrigo wrapping around my neck… yum! I think that bodes well for it actually being finished.

Will it be finished during the month of November? Well, that would be great, but if it's not, I'm not sweating it. Remember, this is a pithy and unofficial sweater. No pressure! 

(If you want to participate in the "official" NaKniSweMo, be sure to check out KnitGrrl, where Shannon Okey, author of a whole slew of charming books, came up with the whole idea. There's even an official NaKniSweMo sweater this year, where the proceeds will benefit a no kill animal shelter. Cool! There's also a Ravelry group here.)

In spinning news, my first novelty yarn is all skeined up and I love it. I got about 64 yards out of it. Not enough for a whole anything, but definitely enough for part of a hat for me or Iris. One thing that's helpful to keep in mind when spinning is that projects don't have to be all handspun. There's no law against combining handspun and millspun! Heck, there are whole books on just that subject!

90210 

Last night I finished spinning up that long awaited other bobbin of Fleece Artist BFL, so I think tonight I'm going to ply it up. Then I'm planning to spin up another one of my Squambo batts. This time I'm going to try to make a corespun yarn, which basically means that I'm spinning roving onto a crochet cotton thread in order to make it stronger. I had a terrible time finding any information about this technique online, until Ravelry saved the day. There I found threads on corespun yarns here and here and here, and I found this tutorial from Sanguine Gryphon. Oh, Ravelry, what would I do without you?

Spinoutbatt
Tokyorosebatt 

The batts, from left to right, are called Spinout and Tokyo Rose. I'm going to try my core spinning on Spinout first. I really like both of them but I loooooove Tokyo Rose. If I'm going to have a major mishap, I'd rather it not be on my favorite!

2 Comments »

  1. Heather said

    I’m not joining any KALs until after my Christmas knitting is done- I completely understand not wanting to get involved with KALs or swaps right now.
    That fiber is beautiful! I wish I could spin.

  2. Squambo said

    Ooh, pretty yarn!!! Squeeeeee! I love to see my batts all spun up!! yay!
    Holly, you will love corespinning…once you start, you won’t want to stop.
    – Sherry

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

