Random Sunday Night (Again!)

1. I am almost up to the decreases on my Fibonacci Frequency hat (Rav link), aka the Hat Attack weapon. So help me, I don't care if I ever see 3×2 ribbing again as long as I live. Especially not if it is going to shift on my everything few rows. Yeesh!

2. I love, love, LOVE knitting with my handspun. I really thought that all the times I've heard spinners talk about how great working with their own yarn is, I figured it was just another evil ploy to suck me into another craft. Which, it may be, but seriously. Knitting with handspun rocks!

3. I deliberated over cowl patterns on Ravelry for hours on Saturday night, trying to find the perfect one for my first handspun. This is one of the big downsides of Ravelry for me personally. I can easily get stymied in the quest for the "perfect" pattern, especially if it's a really special, totally non-repeatable yarn. So in the end, I just figured out what I wanted on my own, and so far I'm happy with the results. So far I've managed to combine knitting and crochet with handspun and millspun yarns! Ooooh! Pictures soon!

4. I think the cowl might be the next "big thing" in knitting. Think the poncho craze, only better because cowls do not make me look like an overstuffed sofa.

5. To help me get through the Fibonacci Frequency, every few rows I let myself do a row or two on my cowl. I realize that if I would just work on the damn hat, I would be finished with it and able to move on with my life, but I really need that extra motivation.

6. Also, I would probably be done with both projects sooner if I could resist the temptation of slipping the cowl onto some waste yarn so I can pull it on over my head for a few minutes.

7. I ended up frogging my Autumn Mitts. I tried twice, but couldn't quite get the right gauge to get a mitt that actually fit my hand. No worries- I'm sure the yarn will find a happy home elsewhere.

8. According to my spreadsheet, since I frogged the mitts, after my Fibonacci Frequency is (finally!) done, I can move onto two tragically languishing projects- the February Baby Sweater and my Wisteria. (FBS on Rav, Wisteria on Rav) I swear, it is the all Malabrigo all the time channel around here! I'm not officially participating in NaKniSweaMo (National Sweater Knitting Month), but I am planning on focusing on my unfinished sweaters in November. I'm hoping to have a whole month of sweater related celebration on the blog, so stay tuned!

3 Comments »

  1. Holly said

    Have you seen this cowl: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/quickie-cowl

  2. tonya said

    Your spreadsheet and fiber-related discipline are really admirable! I can’t wait to see that cowl!

  3. Jessie said

    I am SO excited about this cowl! Like…knitting with your handspun is almost as cool as giving birth to your own child, I’d imagine. (OK, maybe not. Just a guess.)

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

