Dreaming Alpaca

So far, I've mostly been spinning just for the fun of it, with no real plan for doing anything with the yarn I'm making. All that's changed with seven ounces of beautiful, dark gray baby alpaca. I'm almost done spinning it up, and I'm already hunting for the perfect project for it.

There are a few barriers to this kind of scheming, like the fact that I'm not really sure how many yards I'm going to end up with. I think when it's plied I'll have something like a heavy worsted, so according to this handy chart I should have about 420 yards, but that seems like a lot! Could I really have that much yarn on two little bobbins? Oh, the suspense is killing me! That would almost certainly be enough for a really nice scarf. Could it be time to cast on for my third Irish Hiking Scarf? Or maybe this cute little scarflet with a cute little hat to go with it.

For some reason, I was convinced that alpaca was going to be too hard for me to spin. I had heard that it was "slippery" and had a short staple. Which is true, I guess, compared with a long stapled wool like Romney or BFL. But, if you are a new-ish spinner who is nervous to try spinning with alpaca, let me reassure you that it is not too bad! I've tried spinning merino with no success at all, and compared to merino this alpaca stuff is a walk in the park. If you know your way around a wheel and you've spun a skein or two, I think you'll be okay. My particular roving is Handspinner's Dream from Alpaca with a Twist, and it is one of the funnest things I've ever spun. It all but drafts itself. I hope you'll give it a go!

1 Comment »

  1. tonya said

    An alpaca IHS would be divine – especially knowing that you spun the yarn yourself! At least with a scarf if you happened to run out it wouldn’t be the worst thing ever, but it only recommends 350 yards, so over 400 should be plenty, even for a tall person 🙂

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

