Friday Night (or Saturday Afternoon) Ravelry Surf #6

Instead of surfing around tonight, I thought I could intersperse some mini-articles about the many ways to use Ravelry to your best advantage. If you have any questions about using Ravelry, or things you'd like me to talk about in the future, please let me know! Tonight's topic: Favorites.

When it comes to Ravellers, there seems to be a divide between those who mostly Queue and those who mostly Favorite. I personally used to be a hardcore Queue-er, until I ended up with hundreds of patterns queued and had to face the fact that I was probably never going to knit 90% of them. What's more, if I didn't get rid of some of them, I wasn't going to be able to find the 10% that I might have time to knit!

Now, instead of queuing every cute pattern I come across, I add it to my Favorites instead. I might not knit them all, but it's fun to flip through them for inspiration from time to time, and I know it makes the designer feel good that someone has made their pattern a favorite. Also, there's a cool tagging feature that allows you to add a tag to patterns in your Favorites so that you can find what you want. 

Fav1

I try to tag each project with the following information:

  • Weight of yarn (fingering, worsted, dk)
  • Type of project (ie, hat, scarf, baby)
  • Techniques (cables, lace, intarsia)

If I tag a project with a specific yarn in mind, I might also tag it with the name of the yarn. For example, I've been looking for patterns that might be suitable for me Sundara Seasons
yarns, so I add the tag "Sundara" to them so when I have my yarn in
hand, I'll be able to find them quickly. Or, if it's a good one skein project, I use the tag "oneskein". Pretty easy!

If you are are Queue-er, not to worry! My tips on using tags will work for you too, and I will still be your friend even though my way is obviously better. For more details and
tips on using Queues and Favorites to their best advantage, check out Episode 61 of Stash and Burn!

1 Comment »

  1. TeaMouse said

    I like the idea of saving things you might like to knit as favorite – it does seem more reasonable to me instead of letting my queue grow and grow. When I see it getting too big I have this compulsive need to delete things, I’m not sure why. I didn’t realize you could tag favorites, too cool!

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

