Still Just 10%

I hope you won't mind, but I need to take a break from all Ravelympics goings-ons to talk about my weight- a subject I haven't really broached since over two years ago when I proudly posted about losing my first 10%.

If you've been reading the blog for awhile, you know that I've been doing Weight Watchers for a long time now. In the beginning, I was so excited about losing weight. I posted about it every time I lost even a smidge, and I got lots of encouraging comments from readers and knitting buddies. After years of doing all kinds of craziness in the name of losing weight, I felt like I was on a plan that would really get me where I needed to go. I was going to lose two pounds a week, get skinny and knit lots of cashmere sweaters for my skinny self.

I was down from 350 to 296 when I found out I was pregnant, and they don't let pregnant chicks play along at Weight Watchers, so I was on my own again. I could kvetch and claim that getting kicked out of my weekly meeting caused me to get off track, but the truth is I was damn relieved to have an excuse not to count points for nine months or so. It was getting tough and I was getting sick of it. So of course I gained more than I was supposed to when I was pregnant, but not so terribly much. I never got as big as my starting weight, which is kind of scary if you think about being nine months pregnant and still lighter than you were the year before!

I've been going to meetings off and on since Iris was six weeks old, and I'm sad to report that I'm sitting here probably just barely under my 10% goal. It seems like two years has gone by and I'm not much better off than when I started. I have gained and lost the ten pounds between 315 and 305 probably half a dozen times now! It's plum discouraging. I keep thinking I should be able to do this- for myself, for my family, for all the cashmere sweaters I want to knit- but I can't seem to get up the momentum. I like to keep my blog a "happy place", but I'm posting this for two reasons:

  1. I've posted a lot in the past about the fun side of weight loss, so I feel like it's fair to post the less happy side of the story too.
  2. It's helped me in the past to be accountable to other knitters. Not that I expect y'all to follow me around snatching donuts out of my hands, but just knowing that other people know that I'm trying to lose seems to motivate me. (On the other hand, if someone wants to volunteer to folow me around snatching donuts out of my hands, maybe that would help too.) 

4 Comments »

  1. tonya said

    Holly, if you have the willpower to look up fifty billion tutorials to finish Sheldon, you have the willpower to lose weight! (You might say it’s not the same, but both are about determination.) Don’t worry about being “skinny” – focus on being healthy. Think about the kind of eating habits you’d like Iris to have, and lead by example.
    Of course, it’s way easier for me to say than for you to do. But you’ve done it before, and you can do it again! All of us will cheer you on. (And seriously – the sweaters!!)

  2. Holly said

    Okay, not to scare you, but seriously lose it now. Once you’re 30, it’s so much harder. Once you’re 40, it’s darn near impossible.
    I got off fried food and soft drinks, ate lots of fiber, and drank a gallon of water a day and lost 60 pounds a couple of years back. The minute a had a Dr. Pepper and a taco, I gained 20 back. It stinks being over 40.
    Have you had your thyroid checked to make sure that’s not why you have problems? Or are you pretty sure it’s the donuts?

  3. It is really easy to put it on and really tough to take it off. But you just have to try and if occasionally you stray..well, hey that’s life and it’s too short to kick yourself. Keep up the good work though, to end a pregnancy lighter than you started…that’s a big accomplishment. I always think of weight loss like knitting, a little bit each day and it’ll get done.
    BTW, I just stopped by from your podcast. Haven’t listened to the new episode yet but looking forward to it. I always enjoyed your film reviews.
    Happy knitting.
    Donna

  4. Tara said

    I agree with one of the other posts – check your thyroid checked! Since mine just turned up low, I’ve been doing lots of research and it is VERY common for women to have issues esp after having a baby.
    Also, I just way upped my vitamins and its been helping a ton (1000 mg Calcium, 800 IU Vitamin D and Doctors Choice Enzymic Therapy at Rainbow blossom for metabolic support) and upped my fiber to the recommended 35g/day. I lost 3 lbs even before starting the Synthroid!

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

