Friday Night Ravelry Surf #4

This is a very precarious edition of the Friday Night Ravelry Surf for me, seeing as how I’m supposed to be focusing on my WIPs for the upcoming Ravelympics. If there’s one thing Ravelry does not help me do, it’s focusing on my WIPs! But, since I missed the Surf last week (sorry about that), I’m willing to live dangerously for you.

Kelly Petkun of Knit Picks has been working through (more than) a year’s worth of Elizabeth Zimmermann’s patterns from the Knitter’s Almanac. Tonya over at The Shizknit recently announced her plans to do a Zephyr-fest, knitting up a whole slew of fabulous sweaters. I’ve been thinking about doing something similar with mittens.

It started with me getting obsessed with Jared Flood’s Druid Mittens, the ones that were on the cover of the most recent Vogue Knitting. Now I am just obsessing over mittens in general. Luckily for me, Ravelry is an excellent place to troll for mittens.

You’ve probably seen Kate Gilbert’s Bird in Hand mittens, but have you seen Wintergreen? Also, she has a nice basic (free!) mitten pattern called Gifted. Remember, only 145 days till Christmas!

I am going gaga over Eunny Jang’s Anemoi Mittens. How is it that I’d never seen these until just a few minutes ago? 

Have you ever had the urge to have squirrels cavorting around your hands? Then you are in luck!

I personally am a big fan of these Norwegian Snail Mittens. Actually, I like all of Adrian Bizillia’s mittens. She also has this cool Generic Norwegian Mitten graph paper that you can use to chart up any crazy thing you’ve ever wanted on a mitten. Sweeeeet!

Lest you think I can only link to mittens tonight, I present to you a fascinating object d’art. Also, some cool bibs that were knit using Rowan Denim and then accented with bleach. Very alternative rock! And in the spirit of Leslie’s Yoda baby sweater, I present you a very cute baby in a Yoda Hat. If I didn’t already have a baby, my nerdy ovaries would be spasming!

1 Comment »

  1. tonya said

    My queue has just gotten larger, thanks to those Kate Gilbert and Hello Yarn mits! (The Eunny mittens were already in my queue – I love those!) And the Yoda hat . . . Leo really does need one of those!

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

