Ravelympics ’08: Warming Up

Against my better judgment, I'm signing up for Ravelympics 2008. Why against my better judgment? Because the first Knitting Olympics, way back in 2006, kicked my ass! My chosen project was the Samus cardigan from Knitty. Right now, that cardigan is buried in my closet under some Christmas decorations and an old DVD player. I'm not sure what I was thinking, trying to knit a very large adult sized sweater in sixteen days, but I had a good time participating even though I didn't even come close to finishing. Actually, I'm not sure what I'm thinking now! I guess I just can't resist a good knitalong.

I'm planning on doing the "WIP Wrestling" event and tackling some of my languishing UFO's. If you've been following this blog for any length of time, you probably know that finishing things tends to be a challenge for me. Today, I counted up all my frogged, hibernating, and in progress projects in Ravelry and came up with 33. And that's not even taking into account things that never made it long enough to get put on my projects page! I'm hoping this will be the kick in the pants I need to get my knitting back under control. (I've considered the possibility that it might not be healthy to be this worried about how not in control my knitting is, but decided I don't much care.)

I'm not sure if this counts as cheating, but while I'm feeling motivated I decided it would be a good time to go through my projects and make decisions about what needs to be frogged and what I still want to do. I think I've struck a pretty decent balance. And it feels good to make decisions and frog things. Very empowering!

A few projects that went to the frog pond:

Minimalist Cardigan– I decided it wouldn't be a flattering sweater for me. And besides that, I am not really a "minimalist" kind of gal.
Ultimate Crocheted Socks– I consider these to be the product of weird pregnancy hormone related crochet issues.
Tasha– Because I want the yarn for other stuff and don't mind cannibalizing my own projects for it.
Swallowtail Shawl– This one pains me, but this project has some issues and I think it's time to say goodbye, just for now. I'll come back to you someday, beautiful pink Malabrigo laceweight!!

Just a couple old projects that I'm keeping:

Sheldon– Mostly because I think it would be less trouble to finish it than to frog it at this juncture.
Samus– Yes, my nemesis from the first Knitting Olympics is sticking around for another go. If I don't finish it this time around, there's always 2010!

 

1 Comment »

  1. Allison said

    Oh Sheldon! How I’ve missed you!

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

