Changing My Mind

I must be in a fickle mood lately.

First, the February Baby Sweater.

February2

We have a love/hate relationship. Love: Malabrigo, garter stitch, and the fact that it’s coming out to be the size I envisioned. Hate: The sleeves, which I chose to do in the round. I keep losing DPNs, dropping stitches, losing my place in the lace pattern, and having to rip back and start the cycle anew.

Half the point of doing the Baby Sweater was so I could decide about making myself a February Lady Sweater. At the start of this project, I was excited about the matchy matchy possibilities, but if I’m having this much trouble with the baby one, do I really want to subject myself to adult sized torture? Right now, I’m thinking not, but maybe once the sweater is finished it’ll be so cute that I won’t be able to contain myself.

Then, there’s socks. I had just about given up on the whole sock thing. I like the idea of socks, but with my big calves and long narrow feet, standard sock patterns just don’t work and I’ve never stayed motivated long enough to sit down and work out the formula for a more customized fit. But I think I’ve finally worked out a solution:

Artyarns1 

Knit the socks and then find someone to fit them. These socks, at 8 stitches to the inch and 64 stitches around, fit around my foot okay but would never fit my leg. But I don’t care! They’re going fast, the perfect size to keep in my purse, and I’m sure somebody will enjoy them!

Lastly, in non-knitting related fickleness, I’ve changed my mind about makeup.

07162008-makeup 

I think it’s funny that I haven’t worn makeup pretty much since high school, but mere days after I confessed on my 100 Things list, I ended up in Sephora trying to take a baby step back into putting something besides moisturizer on my face. The saleperson told me that mascara and eyeshadow were the most basic things, and I bought a lipstick too, just for fun. I think the fun factor is what I’ve been missing all this time. I’ve always viewed putting on makeup as a time consuming chore that women participate in because they feel like they have to. Now I’m realizing that it can be a tool for self-expression. Who knew?

3 Comments »

  1. Colleen said

    I think you look great in makeup. I have enjoyed reading your 100 Things List. Very funny and interesting. Colleen

  2. tonya said

    As a makeup junkie, I saw welcome aboard! (So, I realize you haven’t reached junkie level. But it may or may not happen.) My latest specialty has been trying to find drugstore versions of my Sephora favorites to save dough. Woo-hoo, makeup!
    I like the FBS. (I guess we can abbreviate it.) Maybe if you did the sleeves flat you would fall in love with it again?

  3. Jessie said

    I love the makeup! You look beeyootiful! (And it is kind of fun…)

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

