Spring Fever?

Last May, I went on a short-but-enthusiastic crochet jag. It yielded one very ugly unfortunate afghan and half a sock. Just as quickly as the urge came, it went. At the time I chalked it up to pregnancy hormones, but recent evidence suggests that it was just good old fashioned spring fever working its magic. Again this year, I’ve found myself succumbing to the siren song of crafts that are not knitting.

It started with the acquisition of spinning supplies. Then, I cast on- or is hooked on?- for a crocheted ripple afghan. Then, while my husband’s parents were visiting, I mentioned to my mother-in-law that I had a "broken" sewing machine. She took all of 30 seconds to "fix" it and now, I’m finally learning to sew.

Machine

Have I ever told you about my very first knitting project? (I promise, this relates to the topic at hand, just give me a minute.) It was a dishcloth from a cheap learn to knit book that had projects listed in what I assumed to be order of difficulty. It was a diamond stitch pattern written out line by line. It’s the kind of pattern that wouldn’t be too challenging to a knitter experienced enough to be able to "read" their knitting, but to someone who had barely grasped the basics, it was crazy difficult. And it was in cheap dishcloth cotton, which is kind of hard to work with and shows every mistake. Ugh. About halfway through, I realized I was in way over my head and started over with something a little more manageable.

I’m afraid I might be repeating history with my first sewing project. My mom told me that when she was took Home Ec, the first sewing project was an apron. I thought that sounded like a reasonable place to start, but when I went pattern hunting, I saw this little dress and thought it couldn’t be that different from an apron.

Firstpatt

Of course now I am in way over my head. The dress has darts, interfacing, an elastic waistband, and pockets. Me? I don’t really even know how to sew a straight seam! Yikes! I plan to embrace my inner pioneer and keep going even though I don’t really know what’s going on. Sewing is fun, but so much more dangerous than knitting! At this point, I’m just hoping I don’t sew my fingers together. If I stop posting, I guess you’ll know what happened!

7 Comments »

  1. Heather said

    It is much more dangerous! A sewing machine needle goes much faster than a knitting needle!

  2. Kristin said

    Making things for babies is the way to go! Iris will look adorable in the most busted of sewing projects!

  3. Colleen said

    You will do fine sewing. I taught myself to sew, so you can also. If this pattern is too hard, just go back and look for an easy pattern to do first. Colleen

  4. Tonya said

    Eek! I was so (or should I say “sew” just for the sake of a pun) excited when I read this. Since I’m looking at knitting as more of a job (even though I still LOVE doing it), I decided to make sewing my new hobby. So far, I’ve just made tote bags and a rice pillow, but I can’t wait to start more. Perhaps we could corral Leo and Iris in a pack and play and get our sew on?
    (By the way, I got the book “Sew U” by Wendy Mullins and it’s uber helpful. I’m working up the courage to make the basic skirt from the book.)

  5. Sara said

    Sewing…now i know why i also have the sudden urge to sew, its because of Spring *lol*
    I designed my own baby sleeping bag but at the moment its still on “drawing” board:D

  6. Capi (Katie) said

    I love sewing!! I first taught myself to sew when I was in grade school… believe me – if I can do it, you can do it no problem! I can’t wait to see Iris in her new dress!

  7. Mery said

    Is that the sewing machine you inherited from me? I hope it is, I would be so HAPPY to see it put to good use!

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

