Baby a Baby Swap Questionnaire

1) What is your favorite yarn? Favorite colors? What is your least favorite?

I love so many yarns, but let’s narrow it down to my top three favorites for babies, shall we? In no particular order…

*Blue Sky Organic or Dyed Cotton [Ravelry] [Ravelry]
*Knit Picks Shine [Ravelry]
*Malabrigo Merino Worsted [Ravelry]

Favorite colors- I can enjoy almost any color, though I will admit to having a special fondness for the purple family and an intense dislike for that minty baby green color. My baby is a girl, but we’re not too picky about dressing her in "girly" colors. Follow your muse!

2) Knit, crochet, both?

Both, but I lean more towards knitting.

3) How long have you been knitting/crocheting? Who taught you? Why did you want to learn?

I learned how to crochet in 2002 in a crafts class I took during my final year of high school. It was so much fun that I just had to learn to knit too, so I coerced a friend into teaching me in January of 2003. I still think crocheting is a spiffy thing to do, but I mostly knit these days.

4) What is your favorite snack/sweet?

I’m back to Weight Watchers, so I’m trying to load up on fruits and veggies. (Often, this is easier said than done…) If I want a sweet and I’m trying to keep my points low, I’ve been eating the Weight Watchers snack cakes. Caramel is good. Lemon- even better! If I’m feeling spendy, I might choose a Butterfinger or a Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup. Ah, the decadence!

5) What did you want to be when you grew up?

An archaeologist. Seriously, who didn’t want to be an archaeologist when they were 7?

6) What names would you NEVER consider for a baby?

Anything in the Top 10 Most Popular Names. My last name is common, so I think it’s best paired with a first name that is distinctive, but not too "weird".   

7)
What things did you, as a child, vow to never to do your children, but
have since decided that you will? For example, we weren’t allowed
sugar-coated cereal growing up and I told my parents I’d NEVER do that
to my kids. After some life experience, I think my parents were pretty
smart in that decision.

This only kind of relates, but here’s a funny story about me as a kid:

When I was about 4, I had an invisible friend named Sybil Sadie. (You know, like the Cabbage Patch Kid.) Whenever I was in the car with my mom, for some reason I wanted to have the air conditioning on and roll the windows down at the same time. The conversation usually went something like this:

Mom: You have to pick- do you want your window down or do you want the air conditioner on?
Me: Both!
Mom: No, you can’t have both.
Me: But MOM! Sybil Sadie rolls her car windows down and turns the air conditioner on ALL THE TIME!!!
Mom: Well, when you grow up you can do whatever Sybil Sadie does.

8) What is your favorite thing about being a parent/expectant parent?

It’s hard to choose between endless breastfeeding, dirty diapers, and being spit up on at least once a day.

Just kidding!

My favorite thing is that I’ve found out that I have the resolve and stamina required to deal with endless breastfeeding, dirty diapers, and being spit up on at least once a day. I’ve been through some difficult times in my life, but nothing has ever tested my inner strength like parenting an infant. It makes things in my life that I used to consider almost impossible seem like not such a big deal.

It doesn’t hurt that Iris is the most charming person I’ve ever met. I think she is going to melt many hearts, starting with mine!

2 Comments »

  1. Tonya said

    Babies are total heart-melters. It makes all that poop worth it.
    Did wool blends bother you with eczema when you were a baby?

  2. Jessie said

    She is positively charming. Perfect, really.

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

