Finished Object: Irish Hiking Scarf

Ihs1

Pattern: Irish Hiking Scarf, a free pattern from Hello Yarn.

Yarn: Alpaca with a Twist Highlander, my absolute favorite tweed, in a mossy green color called Lady Fern. I used 2.5 skeins to obtain a scarf with 43 repeats of the cable pattern, about five feet in length.

Needles: Good old cheap aluminum straights, size 8. But if I knit this pattern again with this  yarn, I might go up a size for drape.

Modifications: Not a single one. The pattern calls for 350 yards of worsted weight wool, and I think I used that much almost to the foot.

Final Thoughts: The perfect combination of yarn and pattern. Knitting this was a big confidence booster, and who can’t use that? The first half was slow going, for which I blamed the baby. But I actually finished the last half in less than three days, and I was taking care of the baby by myself for most of that time. I’m finding out it’s all about time management. I had to stay up way past my bedtime to get it done, but I did it! As the back of the Mason Dixon Knitting book says, "No project is too ambitious if you crave the result enough."

Oh, and I also learned how to fix a miscrossed (or in my case non-crossed) cable with a little help from the Yarn Harlot’s great tutorial. But you’d never know that from looking at the scarf!

4 Comments »

  1. Tonya said

    Yay cables!! And that’s a great tutorial from the Harlot.

  2. Colleen said

    Beautiful scarf. How about some pictures of Iris in some Christmas get-up. Hope you are feeling better. Colleen

  3. Jessie said

    I love it! I’ve already worn it several times, and it’s deliciously cozy. Thank you so much.

  4. Tonya said

    Give me a call or email so I can give you some diapers, woman!
    I hope you had a great Christmas with your family.

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

