Good News, Bad News

Good News: The camera has been found! (But I’m still not posting any pictures because it’s already packed in my bag for the hospital, which is in the car so I don’t forget it!)

Bad News: This isn’t really bad news so much as not the news I was hoping for, but somehow "Good News, Not the News I Was Hoping For" doesn’t make for quite as catchy a post title. Anyway, my OB decided that because of the size of my baby, the best and safest route for birth is a C-section. The hospital scheduler is going to call me today and let me know when, but I believe we’re looking at Thursday or Friday of this week. I have a lot of mixed feelings, so maybe after I get the date I can post again and try to sort some of those out.

I’m pretty sure I don’t have to say this, but please don’t start
sending me links about the risks of C-sections and all the reasons why
I should argue with my doctor about this. I know there are mixed opinions about whether or not a big baby is really a good reason to send an otherwise healthy pregnant woman into surgery. I may have skimped on the knitting during this pregnancy, but boy, did I ever hit the books! If you have a c-section story of your own that you feel like sharing, good or bad, or any words of advice, I’d be happy to hear from you!   

7 Comments »

  1. Wendi said

    Yay,baby by end of week. I’ve been wondering. If you have a c-section on Thursday or Friday that means that 2-3 days in hospital, out by Monday Tuesday -one day to recoup, WE GET TO SEE HER THURSDAY NIGHT AT KNIT NOOK STITCH N BITCH, JACKPOT!!!! Can’t wait. Congrats again, to two great parents and a bouncing “big” baby girl.

  2. Wendi said

    Yay,baby by end of week. I’ve been wondering. If you have a c-section on Thursday or Friday that means that 2-3 days in hospital, out by Monday Tuesday -one day to recoup, WE GET TO SEE HER THURSDAY NIGHT AT KNIT NOOK STITCH N BITCH, JACKPOT!!!! Can’t wait. Congrats again, to two great parents and a bouncing “big” baby girl.

  3. Tonya said

    At least you’re going to be having that baby! I can’t wait — and I know you can’t. A girl I worked with at the Fair Board actually said her c-section was a breeze — her baby was over 9 lbs as well. She said it wasn’t nearly as bad as she had anticipated. And you don’t have to worry about all of the va-jay-jay troubles or going through hours of labor. There’s always a silver lining! Good luck with everything. Next time I see you, you’ll be a mommy!

  4. Allison said

    The Duggars- the crazy family in Missouri with 16? (I think that’s what they are up to now) kids- her first kid was a c-section and she had all but the last two or three vaginally. So the all the rest of the kids you have could still be popped out the old fashioned way.

  5. Holly said

    I love Tonya’s comment. Too funny.
    Congrats. I’m so excited for you.

  6. Colleen said

    Congratulations. I know you are ready. Don’t be afraid. Everything will be fine. In fact, maybe you have already had her. See you soon. Colleen

  7. Cindy said

    Good luck Holly. I’m sure everything will be just fine, and I’m really looking forward to meeting your little girl.

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

