Nine (Ten) Months of Knitting, Not Knitting, Crocheting, and Frogging

Pregnancy has done weird things to my knitting life. During my first trimester, I stopped knitting altogether, for long enough that Bob was worried that I might have decided to give up the knitting life permanently. I went totally nutso for crochet during the early part of my second trimester, then started buying up  used sweaters like there was no tomorrow. I’ve thought about crocheting since then, and I’ve thought about all the fun things I might do with my stash of recycled sweaters too, but that burning need to crochet and collect sweaters seems to have disappeared like any other pregnancy craving is eventually wont to do.

Pre-pregnancy, whenever I considered what might happen to my knitting if I were having a baby, I just assumed that I would be knitting even more than I did then, and that baby things would be flying off my needles left and right. Instead, my knitting production has plummeted, baby knitting barely happened at all, and I started crocheting instead! Pregnancy is full of surprises!

Now that I’m in the last month or so of this crazy gestation business, I’m going through a very serious case of knitting ADD. I can’t focus on anything. I cast on and frog, cast on and frog, over and over again. I can’t seem to get excited about any of my knitting, and even projects I like are languishing as I cast on more and more items, searching for something better. It’s so frustrating! I’m not getting anything done here! Nothing!

And the whole time I’m knitting things I know I’ll probably end up frogging, I keep thinking that I’m wasting all this great knitting time. In (hopefully) less than a month I’ll have a baby around the house, and I suspect it’s going to cut into my sitting around and obsessing about yarn time. I feel guilty. Shouldn’t I be enjoying this last month of freedom? But I can’t settle on anything long enough to enjoy it!

Maybe I would be having this problem even if I wasn’t expecting- I’ve had similar cases in the past (albeit not this severe) and I know most other crafty types struggle with some kind of project ennui from time to time. Pregnancy related or not, it’s driving me out of my mind. I’m thinking about taking a week off from knitting altogether, but for some reason I have a feeling it won’t help, and might make matters worse.

What do y’all think? What do you do for the worst case of knitting ADD ever? Set everything aside and come back when I’m feeling less ambiguous? Or keep trying to work on projects that you are less than enthused with? 

5 Comments »

  1. Tonya said

    Just go with it and do whatever you feel like. And it’s not wasted knitting time even if you frog something — knitting gets rid of lots of nervous energy.

  2. Holly said

    Holly, it sounds like you need some good magazine and book time. Maybe if you look at some beautiful projects, your enthusiasm will return. Or a visit to the yarn store. Ooooo, pretty yarn…always a good thing.
    – Holly

  3. Wendi said

    I think Tonya’s right, you would be more nervous if you weren’t knitting even if you can’t stay focused. I wonder if you could maybe work on some dishclothes and if you wanted to use them for burp rags or maybe just sew them together later for a blanket. Instead of frogging, bind off. Your making something useful. I get like this too, and I know I would find a bunch of other things to drive myself crazy with if I didn’t knit. When you clean the house from top to bottom, you’ll know she’s coming, then email me the name. You know I need to know more than anyone else.

  4. Kristin said

    You shouldn’t feel guilty about wasting your “last” month of freedom. The kid’s gotta sleep, right? Eventually, she’ll go to school. Just look around the shop–chock full of mothers. You’ll be back in the swing of things in no time! (Plus, why do you need to knit when you are getting such beautifully knitted items, like the Surprise Jacket?)

  5. Tonya said

    You should make Bob (from Mochimochi) since you have a Bob.
    Hope you’re still hanging in there!

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

