WIP Roundup

Mflogcabin2
 

1. Log Cabin Thingy, from Mason Dixon Knitting. The yarn is Mission
Falls 1824 Wool
. I cast on in August with no particular goal in mind, and its
size will be determined by how long it takes me to get sick of it.
Could be a pillow, could be a baby blanket, could be a king size
afghan. Only time will tell! It’s a great project to pull out when I’m
in the mood for endless garter stitch, but if you’re waiting for it to
be finished anytime soon… well, I wouldn’t hold your breath.

Sheldon4
Sheldon3

2. Poor Sheldon. This little turtle started crawling around my needles this July, but I took these pictures sometime in August and haven’t made a stitch of progress since then. I love knitted toys… but I hate knitting all those tiny little pieces! He still needs his under-shell, four feet, and some beady little turtle eyes.

Closeup

3. The Minimalist Cardigan, which I already blogged about a little bit earlier. Have I mentioned that this Hollyberry color is impossible to photograph. I’ve tried every fancy camera trick I know (which doesn’t amount to much, but still). The actual color is much deeper than I can seem to capture. More like… well, a real hollyberry! I’m slogging along, slowly but surely. Fortunately, my cardigan knitting partner isn’t speeding ahead of me. I’ve resigned myself to the fact that it’s just going to be one of those projects.

Whitepompom

4. Last but not least, a plain white hat. This hat started life as the Snowball Hat from the latest Interweave Knits. But after doing several repeats of the chart, I felt like my cables looked wonky. They looked even worse when spread out over my gigantic noggin. So I frogged it down to the 2×2 ribbing and decided that sometimes, it’s good to go back to basics. What initially drew me to the hat was the gigantic pompom on top of it, so I’ll be retaining that portion of the design. And as with my Purl Bee Beret, I’m envisioning a wee matching one for a certain baby girl.

I could lie and say that I’m going to work on this stuff until it’s finished with not so much as one diversionary cast on, but you and I both know that I’ve got project monogamy issues. Being only 5 weeks away from my due date (!!!), it’s evident that if I’m going to do any pre-baby knitting, it has to be now or never. I’ve been stymied by the sheer amount of cute things there are to be knit, but I’m going to have to bite the proverbial bullet and pick! First on the agenda- a baby kimono. I can finally see if they really are as useful as they appear!

Leave a Reply

