Baby Name Contest

So, at the risk of turning my knitting blog into a pregnancy blog, I wanted to have a little chit chat about naming the baby.

Whenever I talk about my pregnancy, with friends, co-workers, or total strangers, I’m always asked if I know what I’m going to name the baby. The answer is that I do have a name in mind (as long as I’m correct in assuming it’s a girl, that is.) But, it’s a secret! Occasionally, someone acts like it’s a personal affront to them that I don’t want to share the name, but I think there are some practical reasons to keep it to myself. Whatever happened to the element of surprise? Don’t people want just a tiny bit of mystery int their lives?

Plus, keeping the name a secret has the side bonus of letting me have a little blog contest! See if you can guess the baby’s name before it gets here and I announce it to the world! Just leave me a comment here, or you can email me and knitonmycatATgmailDOTcom. The winner will get some yarn that is related to the name, probably of the sock variety. If more than one person guesses the correct name, I’ll put the correct guesses in a hat and draw a name. If no one guesses the correct name (and I’m guessing no one will), I’ll put all the guessers in a hat and have a random drawing. Either way, someone is getting some free yarn, and I promise you it will be nice stuff!

Hints (You only get two!):

1. It isn’t in the Top 100 Most Popular Baby Names List for 2006 according to BabyNames.com. In fact, it wasn’t in the Top 100 for 2005, 2004, 2003, 2002, or 2001 either.
2. It starts with a vowel.

ETA: One guess per person please! Also, the contest is for guessing baby’s first name, but if you want to take a stab at the middle name for fun, feel free!

Oh, and it’s not a trick question! I’m not counting Y as a vowel! Finally, it is a "real" name, as in, other people besides this baby have had this name. I actually don’t think it’s that far out of the realm of normal, just not super popular right now.

Thanks for all the responses! Keep them coming! I’m having a great time with all your ideas!

11 Comments »

  1. trek said

    I like this name and it starts with a vowel and it isn’t on the popular names list: Alison.
    Happy Baby Naming!

  2. Tonya said

    Can you guess more than once? My first guess is Iris. (I was thinking Olivia, but it’s on the top 100 list.)
    This is a brilliant idea, by the way.

  3. Lauren said

    I’m going with Alicia.
    We didn’t tell anyone what our name choice was either. The last thing you want is for people to tell you all the reasons NOT to name your child something. 🙂

  4. Stephani said

    Hmmm. begins with a vowel a e i o u How about Aurora, Althea, Evangeline, Isabella, Oriana, Uriel

  5. Heather said

    I know what you mean about baby names…with all three of my kids someone had something to say about all of them. Aurora, Evelin, Irene, Octavia, Unique.
    Hope that the rest of your pregnancy goes well. Good luck!

  6. Colleen said

    I like your hair. It looks good. I am going with Abigail. I don’t really have a clue just want to be in on the fun. Will I win something? Colleen

  7. Allison said

    Ariel

  8. wendi said

    My guess —Amity, love it love it love it. Your hair is great Holly, I can’t wait to see the baby beret!

  9. Brenda said

    If I guess it, do I get the baby as a prize. I guess, Irene.

  10. Allison said

    I can’t help but guess again… One of my favorite names- Adelaide.

  11. chloe said

    I like the name Opal. She will have her own gemstone as well as her own sock yarn.
    chloe

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

