We’re Ready!

Last night was my final childbirth preparation class. The topic was newborn care, so we discussed diapering, bathing, and swaddling. I’ve become a little obsessed with swaddling. I broke out a receiving blanket today and practiced swaddling on everything in sight. (The cats did not appreciate this treatment as much as one would think.)

Swaddlepanda

Bob shows great promise as a father by demonstrating the correct way to cuddle a swaddled panda.

I’m pretty sure that the childbirth preparation classes are going to be utterly worthless in the grand scheme of things, and are a total misnomer anyway- how can you possibly prepare? Aside from gathering basic supplies and information, there’s not a whole lot you can do to prepare for total upheaval. But, at least I know how to swaddle. You have to do something with all that nervous pregnant energy!

4 Comments »

  1. Wendi Merkle said

    That’s a good picture of Bob. I love the baby sweater Holly. I want to make the Beret now.

  2. Stephani said

    That is a really cute pic! And yes, “childbirth preperation” is a bit of a misnomer…

  3. Elizabeth said

    You’ve been busy! Love the kimono and the beret. What a great use for Koigu!
    I like swaddling, too.

  4. Tonya said

    What I wish I had known about swaddling — use rectangular blankets!! Everytime we use a square one Leo busts out.
    You’re in the home stretch now!

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

