The Heat is On!

Rosetwist1

 Baby Kimono lounging on the deck, looking all cute and stuff.

Rosetwist2

Baby Kimono in it’s natural habitat, wadded up on top of a pile of crap on my desk.

I know I promised some updates on my current knitting projects, and
really, they’re coming! However, right at the moment, I’m working on
the world famous Heartbreakingly Cute Baby Kimono from Mason Dixon
Knitting
, and since I’m on a deadline (tomorrow, eek!), all other
knitting here at Casa de Golightly has come to a screeching halt. (What
am I doing blogging? I should be knitting!!)

Fortunately, I’m about
halfway through the kimono and I’m thinking I can finish it with just a
few hours of steady work. The trick is finding a few hours!

I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned this on the blog before, but I am
s-l-o-o-o-o-o-w knitter. I don’t really think that’s a terrible thing,
since I’m not really knitting because I have to have things fast. It’s just a little inconvenient on the rare occasion that I do need
something in a hurry! Based on the fact that I’m about halfway done and
I’ve spent 3.5 hours on it so far, I’m guessing that with seaming and
finishing touches, it will take me about 8 hours total to finish this
tiny sweater. Have you made this project and noted how many hours you
spent from start to finish? If so, let me know! It would be fun to see if I’m actually going
as slow as I think I am. I hypothesize that a more "average" speed
knitter might spend 6 hours on it, start to finish, and a speedier
knitter might only need about 5… or less?   

2 Comments »

  1. Elizabeth said

    I don’t remember how long it took me to knit the baby kimono. I know I did it in 2 days, but I have no clue how much time I spent on it each day. I remember thinking it took me longer to pick out the buttons than it did to knit.

  2. Tonya said

    Yay! I’m so excited! I can’t wait for Leo to play with your yet-to-be-named kiddo. Craig’s tux is because the day after we came home from the hospital, he had to play a gig requiring a tux, so I had to take a picture of course. I’ll have to post the birth story soon!! I can’t wait to see everyone!!

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

