Resistance = Futile

I’ve been knitting, knitting, knitting like crazy! Unfortunately, I
haven’t been blogging much because I’m experiencing some technical
difficulties with my digital camera. (Translation- I left it on
overnight, ran the batteries down, and keep forgetting to go buy new
ones.) Before the camera died was killed, I managed to work in a little modeling session…

Felted1 Felted2_2

For such a disastrous sweater, Big Blue turned out to be a pretty nice
vest. I’m happy with the finished product, although I wish I wouldn’t
have cut the armholes so big. One is definitely a little bigger than
the other, but at least it’s wearable- more than I can say for the
pre-felted Big Blue! I feel intellectual when I wear it, but Bob says
it makes me look like a member of the Mean Street Posse. I haven’t quite decided whether I should be insulted or not.

I have pictures of finished baby items to, but I won’t be showing those
until they are in hands of the mama-to-be. I hate to be a tease, but I
think they are some of the cutest things I’ve ever knit. So stay tuned
for vomitrociously adorable FOs. Shouldn’t be much longer
now!

Last week, I gave into that wily temptress, Rowan Denim, and cast on
for the Tasha bag. Since I can’t take any progress pictures, just use
your imagination- it looks like two dark blue stockinette squares about
9×9 inches, and a narrow panel of ribbing for the bottom. Probably not
the most exciting knitting photography anway. It will be more exciting
once I start knitting the lovely cables for the top of the bag and
strap.

In spite of my being drawn to this yarn, I was a little wary. Not all
of things people have to say about it are good- the indigo dye bleeds
all over hands and needles, it’s a little on the splitty side, and
because the yarn fades and shrinks just like real denim, there’s a
certain element of unpredictability. All are valid points, but I find
it a pleasure to knit with. I will admit that I seem to be dropping
more than the usual amount of stitches, and accidentally creating new
ones from time to time due to the splittiness issues, but it’s not
enough to keep me from liking it. If yarns are capable of having
personalities, then Rowan Denim would be honest, hardworking, and full
of character.

I’m one of those crazy knitters who actually enjoys that "certain
element of unpredictability" in their knitting- probably why I like to
felt- so I’m really looking forward to tossing all the pieces in the
wash and seeing what comes out. It’s one of those projects where I’m
almost more excited about the finishing than the knitting. It’s extra
exciting because this is my first non-felted knitted bag, so I get to
buy some cool fabric to line with and possibly even figure out how to install
a zipper! Woohoo! (Please don’t rain on my parade by telling me how
hard zipper installation actually is… I’m going into this one
blissfully ignorant and I’d prefer to keep it that way for as long as
possible.)

Aside from a simple ribbed sock that I keep in my purse for knitting at
work and the occasional traffic emergency, the only other things in
progress right now are sort of on hiatus. Somewhere in the process of
moving furntiure from one end of my apartment to the other a couple
weekends ago, I seem to have lost the yarn I need to finish up
my teddy for the Mother Bear Project. I’ll be doing more furniture
moving/cleaning this weekend, so hopefully it will turn up. If it
doesn’t, I’ll either just seam it up in a different color or buy some
matching embroidery floss to do the deed with.

And remember my Ultimate Crocheted Socks? Well, I haven’t worked on
them in a looooong time because I’d like to not have any leftover yarn
(one of the reported benefits of socks from the toe up) and need a
kitchen scale to accomplish that. Also, I kind of lost the muse to
crochet. I think my disappointment with the end results of the Mother’s
Day Afghan sucked the fun out of it for me. Maybe if I can get back
into my socks the urge to hook will return. I hope so, because crochet
is totally an underloved, underappreciated, and under-utilized craft,
and a lot of fun to boot!

To wrap things up, I’ve been missing a lot of group knitting on account
of a road construction project that has made getting anywhere on the
"other" side of the river a huge pain. Adding insult to injury, I ended
up taking childbirth preparation classes on Thursday nights, so the
Thursday night group is out of the question for about four more weeks.
Hope you’re all having a good time without me! I can’t wait to be back!

1 Comment »

  1. Tara said

    Its OK – we miss you though!
    And yes, crochet is totally underrated and I could totally lend you my kitchen scale if I wasn’t scared of “restore 64” and completely navigationally inept…

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

