Saturday Sweater #8 and Nature Babies

Tss3
Today’s sweater is a 100% cashmere, in a lovely shade of peach. I was more than willing to pay full price (5.00 at my thrift shop), but there was a tee-tiny hole in the center back, so they marked it down to a dollar. Score!!

Yesterday, I stopped by my local library and picked up the latest book from Tara Jon Manning, Nature Babies: Natural Knits and Organic Crafts for Moms, Babies, and a Better World. I almost didn’t pick it up on the grounds that it’s not just a knitting pattern book, but I’m so glad I did! Out of 27 projects, a little over a third are for knitting. Believe it or not, I’m almost more excited about the non-knitting projects in the book because a large chunk of them use- get ready- recycled sweaters!!! Squee!!

Naturebabies_3
   

All in all, I can’t recommend it highly enough. The knitting patterns are just the right mix of cute, practical and fun, and even if you’re "just a knitter", I dare you to not get inspired by the non-knitting projects in the book. I’ve been haphazardly trying to figure out how to work the sewing machine that my friend Mery generously loaned me, and I think this book is really going to give me the nudge to learn to use it properly. 

Leave a Reply

