As the Heel Turns

This is the sock right after I had completed all the gusset increases and right before I had started turning the heel:
Usc6

This is the sock, pictured lying flat with the top side of the sock facing up.
Ucs5

That little nub sticking out of the side of my sock is supposed to be the heel flap. So far, my heel has pretty much remained located at the back of my foot, not the side, so that could be a problem. If I keep going as it is, this is what my heel flap will look like:
Usc7

I won’t bore you with the details of why my heel flap has migrated to the side of the sock, but I did a little research and apparently it is a problem with interpreting the pattern, and I am not the only one who is having it. Doesn’t that mean someone should edit the  pattern?  The designer left some really helpful comments on the blog, but her comments at least need to be integrated into the pattern notes. I imagine that if I weren’t already pretty experienced with knitted sock construction, I would be feeling like a ship without a sail right about now! I’m all for using patterns as guidelines instead of laws, but this is starting to get silly.

I’ve been keeping notes on all the changes I’ve made, so when this sock is done I should have a much better idea of what I need in a crocheted sock pattern. Even with all the annoying ripping back I’ve had to do, I’m having so much fun making these that I just know there are more pairs in my future! The fact that the crocheting goes by so fast makes ripping back less painful. As soon as I finish this pair, there’s some Cascade Fixation yelling "Summer socks! Summer socks!"

Oh, and in case you think I’ve given up on knitted socks… check these babies out!

2 Comments »

  1. Tara said

    I preferred their shrunken head pattern.
    🙂
    A marvelous way to display trophies!!

  2. I like this one the best:http://www.theanticraft.com/archive/samhain05/badjuju.htm

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

