Mystery Cast On Revealed!

Yesterday’s mess of a cast on picture is destined to become…. Sigma
It’s not just the eighteenth letter of the Greek alphabet anymore!

The yarn is Blue Sky Cotton from a recently frogged halfway done cardigan I was knitting from the top down. Don’t blame the pattern, blame the
knitter. It’s just not in my nature to enjoy extremely looooong rows
stockinette… especially that fiddly purl row. I am an in-the-round,
Zimmerman kind of girl at heart. It’s not that I hate purling so much
as I like knitting better!

Sigma seems like a great pattern, and I have a whole plethora of
compelling reasons why it should be my new summertime knit. (And a
project that I could actually finish.)

1. No sleeves. No collar. No buttonband.
2. Lots of stockinette in the round- perfect for tv and movie watching.
3. I already have all, or at least most, of the yarn I need for the
project. I hadn’t bought all the yarn for the Cosmicpluto cardi because
I was just picking up a skein or two as I went, but I should have just
about the right amount for a tank top.

That said, there are some challenging elements to the project.

1. 270 stitches in one round. Ouch.
2. Because there are so many stitches, I ended up not having exactly
the right size of circular needle. I have a whole bunch of size six
Addi Turbos in assorted lengths- 16", 20", 24", and 60". There’s a big
gap between 24" and 60"! So my solution was to use the 24" and 60" inch
lengths to knit the top on two circular needles instead of one. I’ve
used two circular needles many times to make socks, but this is my
first really large project to use the technique. It made the cast on
and joining in the round a little harrowing, but I think that I’ve made
it through my first couple of rounds now with no twist. It’s impossible
to tell for sure with so many stitches, so I’m just going to hope that
it’s ok until I’ve knit enough to tell for sure.
3. I’ll have to figure out how to add short row shaping to the bust
area to ensure that the top fits me correctly. I’ve never done that
before, but I’ve been wanting to learn to I guess there’s no time like
the present! I skimmed through what seems to be a very good tutorial on
short row bust shaping on Knitty, and it doesn’t seem that complicated.
Time will tell. Probably a lot of time, what with all those stitches.

I’m planning on making this a very low pressure, deadline free project.
I would like to be able to try it on at least once before my belly
becomes too huge, but if I don’t quite make it, the world isn’t going
to end. Isn’t it nice that we can knit for leisure now? If we don’t
finish a sweater or woolly pair of socks in time for winter, we’re not
going to die from exposure to cold. Modern life does have some perks!

Hmmm… speaking of woolly socks…. how are my Ultimate Crocheted Socks coming along?

Ucs2

There’s really no way for me to predict the success or failure of this
project at this point. the socks seems ridiculously huge (checkbook provided for scale in the picture… look how w-i-d-e that sucker is!), but when I
put it on and stretch it over my foot it seems to lose a lot of width. But I’ve heard that a lot of people have trouble with huge socks coming out of this pattern, and words like "no negative ease" have been tossed around. I’m trying to decide whether I should rip the whole thing back and go down another hook size, even though I am technically getting gauge with the hook I’m using now. (Size E, in case you’re wondering.) Or I could just rip back to the toe part and do a few less increases. I haven’t quite decided yet. Any thoughts?

2 Comments »

  1. Tonya said

    The only thing I know about crochet socks is that I can’t wait to see how they end up! I’m with you on the knitting-in-the-round, deadline-free project love — maybe that explains why I’ve been on a hat kick. And you should still have some time before your belly gets too big, so no need to rush.

  2. Tonya said

    The only thing I know about crochet socks is that I can’t wait to see how they end up! I’m with you on the knitting-in-the-round, deadline-free project love — maybe that explains why I’ve been on a hat kick. And you should still have some time before your belly gets too big, so no need to rush.

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

