Tiny Toes

Ucs1
What’s that little lumpy looking thing you ask? Why, that’s the toe of my very first crocheted sock, from the Ultimate Crocheted Sock pattern at Crochet Me. Maybe it’s just me, but I think the little baby toes on a freshly started toe up sock are just cute as buttons. My crocheted toe up sock is no exception. Coochy coochy coo, sock! Awwwww.

I’m not sure why I’ve decided to crochet a sock. I certainly enjoy knitting them, and I tend to think that knitted fabric is best for an item that needs a smooth, firm fabric that will wear well and fit inside a shoe. Crocheted fabric is so much more dense and bumpy than stockinette that I’m not convinced it will work in a sock at all. Maybe that’s why I feel so compelled to make one- I need to know if it works at all! Also, being interested in sock construction generally makes me really curious about how crocheted sock construction might be different. Time will tell…

The yarn I’m using is Opal Handpaints that I bought from a certain yarn store in Salem, IN whose owner I affectionately refer to as "totally insane". I don’t know what the color number is, but it shore is purdy.

 

I’m only allowing myself to finish the toe and get it to a place where I’m just mindlessly crocheting in the round up the foot, and then it’s back to work on the Belated Mother’s Day Afghan. It’s such a behemoth now that I needed a smaller, more portable project for being out and about. Or at least, that’s the excuse I’m using to validate myself.

Jetcrochet
Jet sez: "Whatever. You just wanted to crochet a damn sock."

P.S. I’m slowly-but-surely discovering some fun, frequently updated crochet blogs, and I’ll be adding them to the list in the left sidebar (scroll way down) in case you want to check them out too!

Leave a Reply

