Afghan, Interrupted

When I learn to stop setting deadlines for projects? When?

I was trucking along on my Mother’s Day Afghan and feeling pretty confident about getting it done in time for the big day. Then on Tuesday night, I got sick. I was in enough pain that I probably should have gone to the emergency room but I didn’t because I had an appointment with the OB the next day anyway, and I was afraid they would just tell me I had a stomach bug of some kind and send me home.

To make a long story short, when I finally made it to my OB appointment the next day, they spent 10 minutes looking at me and decided I needed to go to the hospital (which conveniently is in the same building as the OB’s office.) I ended up being in the hospital until Thursday afternoon. Nobody panic! I’m fine, baby is fine… I just have gall stones. They want to take my gall bladder out, but we decided to try to manage the condition until I have the baby so that I don’t have to have surgery while I’m pregnant. As soon as that baby comes out… it is open season on my gall bladder!

The whole thing has put a serious crimp in the afghan plan. The last time I worked on it was Tuesday night, and today is the first day I’ve felt well enough to do anything besides yell for more pain pills. I plan on working hard on it for the rest of the day, so we’ll see if I come anywhere near the finish line before tomorrow.

2 Comments »

  1. Tonya said

    Aarrugh!! I’m glad the baby is okay, but it sucks that you have to deal with the gall stones for a few more months. Feel better!!!

  2. Colleen said

    I just read your blog about the hospital. Why didn’t you let someone know? Glad you are better. Hope to see you soon. Colleen

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

