Babyspiral1

I’m sorry I didn’t make it to Sophie’s on Wednesday night, ladies. Unfortunately, my pregnancy has decided to make itself known in extremely unpleasant ways. Let me just put it this way- I can now answer the question, "How was your day?" by saying, "I’m not sure… let me count up how many times I was in the bathroom puking my guts out."

Not pretty. Not pretty at all.

I’m almost done with the first trimester, so I’m hoping that the worst will be over really soon. In addition to the vomiting, I am exhausted pretty much all the time, and all of this puking and sleeping is really starting to interfere with knitting time. I am full of ideas for baby knitting, but I feel so tired and crappy that I really haven’t gotten much accomplished.

The red thing at the top is a baby sized Spiral Rib Hat from Ann Norling’s collection of patterns. I’m using sock yarn at a gauge that’s somewhat smaller than the gauge options in the pattern, so I’m compensating by following the instructions for a small adult sized hat. I mentioned that I’m working on an Umbilical Cord Hat in my last post, but I can’t finish it until I can rustle up some stitch markers. Little sucker needs 8 stitch markers for the decrease! Yes, I know I could just make my own out of little scraps of yarn… but what a pain in the butt! Besides, it’s not like I need it by tomorrow.

So, I will let you in on a little scientific experiment I’m doing. I’ve become really interested in all the different ways people try to predict a baby’s gender. I was never really interested in finding out the sex of the baby through an ultrasound, but it turns out there’s quite a range of folk methods for these kinds of predictions. So far, I’ve checked the Chinese conception calendar, and today a friend did the pencil test on me. So far both of those methods have confirmed my "womanly intuition", but I’m keeping it all a secret- for now. If you know of some other kooky folk method for gender prediction, let me know! I’m going to try them all, as long as they’re not dangerous, and keep track of the results. Then when the baby arrives, we can see what worked and what didn’t!

5 Comments »

  1. Allison said

    Well, if you had a wedding ring you could use that to predict. Tie a peice of your hair to the ring and drop it. If it spins in a circle- girl, back and forth- boy.
    As an aside they just did this on Little House on the Prairie yesterday.

  2. Jessie said

    I’m still trying to grasp this. I am SO not drinking out of the Humana fountains. I hope it’s a girl. But then, if you have a boy, you can raise a fine male knitter.

  3. Mery said

    In Guat some poeple say they can tell by the shape of your belly. If it sticks out but is narrower then a boy if it’s wide then a girl… buy you’ve got no belly yet so you’ll have to wait a few more months.

  4. Mery said

    BTW, did you ever get that little gift let at the Nook for you?

  5. wendi said

    You know if the heart rate is low like 140’s it’s a boy, 150’s-160’s it’s a girl. Dr.’s say this is bunk though.

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

