Strawberry Fields Forever

Strawberry2

Just what everyone needs… a tiny purse that looks like a strawberry!

Pattern: Strawberry Clutch from the Spring 2007 issue of Knitscene

Yarn: Lamb’s Pride Bulky (and some double stranded Worsted) in Red Baron, Christmas Green, and Lemon Drop. The main part of purse took less than a skein of Bulky, and I would imagine that the green at the top could be done with less than half.

Needles: Trusty old Denise Circular Needles, US 13. Handy because after you knit the top of the strawberry, you leave the "stem" stitches live so you can graft them with the other half at the end. Using the Denise needles meant I didn’t have to rummage around for a stitch holder.

Watched While Knitting: The Sopranos, end of Season 1 and beginning of Season 2. Also the first couple episodes of Wonderfalls, which is a very cute show that the Destroyer of All Good TV Fox cancelled after just a few ‘sodes.

Final Thoughts: If you enjoy doing lots of intarsia and duplicate stitch, this may be the perfect project for you. Since I don’t find either of those too activities incredibly appealing, it was definitely not the perfect project for me. Theoretically, I could have knit the little yellow seeds on while I was knitting the bag instead of duplicate stitching them on afterwards, but the spacing of the seeds rendered them too far apart from one another to happily carry the yarn. It would have been intarsia for every stitch, meaning I would essentially have been using a new lenght of yarn for every little one stitch seed. Not thanks!

Elizabeth Zimmerman, in all her wisdom, recommends choosing Fair Isle patterns with no more than five stitches in between color changes, and there are good reasons for this. If you haven’t read Knitting Without Tears, I would suggest checking into it.

In the end, I’ve managed to create a teeny-tiny strawberry shaped bag that I will probably barely use. If you want it, let me know. I’d be happy to sell it, or hell, I’d probably be willing to give it away if it’s for a good cause.

Leave a Reply

