Back on Track

Chaosresolved

Life is looking considerably brighter here at Casa de Golightly, as you can see from my glouriously organized stash. The yarn corner is 110% improved since yesterday, some languishing projects have finally made it to cast off, and exciting new projects are in the works. (And those new projects are totally Rotation legal- sweet!)

Last week, after the emotional upheaval of aran disaster, I decided that what I really, really needed was a break from anything involving charts, seed stitch, or thought. Serendipitously, that very day I saw a post on Crazy Aunt Purl about her Kitty Pi. It was love at first sight. I had to buy needles for it the second I left work. Can you believe after two years of knitting I didn’t have a single set of size 11 DPNs? What is the world coming to? 

Also serendipitiously, Tara recently gifted me with more black felting wool than you can shake a stick at (thanks again!), so I had plenty of raw material. I cast on for the Pi Tuesday night, and today I cast off! A super fast, totally brainless project was what I needed and Kitty Pi delivered.

Kittypi1
Kittypi2Kittypi3

I should be felting it tomorrow when I do laundry. Having something to felt is great motivation to go to the laundromat. Maybe I should make a Kitty Pi every week…

I’m planning to make at least one more, and possibly a third for a cat loving co-worker. If you think your favorite kitty needs a Pi, this is a free pattern from Wendy Knits. If my resounding endorsement doesn’t convince you, check out the finished Kitty Pi gallery. (Warning: Viewing gallery could cause cute cat overload.)

As of last night, I’m officially finished with my 2006 Holiday Knitathon. Behold! Mylea’s Fingerless Mitts:
Orangefingerlessmitts The yarn is Blue Sky Alpaca’s worsted, although you should be warned that this yarn is a very, very heavy worsted. One more ply and I think we could safely call it bulky. I knit it a little too densely on my trust Susan Bates DPNs, sizes 4 and 5. The pattern came from the Knitter’s Handy Book of Patterns. I find that this book really lives up to the title, especially when it comes to Xmas knitting. Mylea likes them, and I knit them to match her Grown Up Bonnet Scarf.

I know I’ve said this every year since I started knitting, but this time I mean it: I’m not doing the whole Xmas knitting thing next year. I’m sure some people really enjoy it, but for me it always ends up being stressful and annoying. I love knitting things for my fellow knitters, but from now on I’m sticking to birthdays. At least those are spaced out through the year.

Last but not least, I ripped out the orange aran and it felt great! It felt even better when I cast on for the Central Park Hoodie. No regrets here, not a single one.

So, just for the record, the Rotation projects are as follows: one pink and aqua Ballband Warshrag. One Grown Up Bonnet Scarf. And one Central Park Hoodie. There are a couple other things still on the needles chillin’ out in the frog pond, but since they’re soon to be recycled yarn, they don’t count!! Woohoo!

2 Comments »

  1. Steph said

    Sooo sorry about your frogging incident! 😦 And I am very sympathetic with your Alexander moments…no bookmobile+freezing weather=an unhappy Stephani …Your stash looks fabulous by the way! 🙂

  2. Jessie said

    Only one kitty pi? How well do Jet and Big Louie share??

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

