Bad Week

When I was a kid I had a book called Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day. That poor kid just couldn’t catch a break. I’ve thought about that story several times over the last week, because I’ve been feeling a little like Alexander ever since Monday. Nothing drastically awful has happened- I mean, no one I care about has died, I haven’t been abducted by aliens, and moths didn’t get into my stash- but it seems like nothing has gone right either. Work is a mess. My house is a mess. And worst of all, my knitting is a mess. (Naturally, I’m most concerned about the knitting.)

Let’s deal with the most terrible and important thing first: the possible frogging of the Orange Aran. (Yes, you read that right. The whole shebang.)

It was going so, so well. In my last post, I proudly announced no less than 6 inches of new knitting progress on the back, all accomplished in one frenzied weekend. I was almost halfway done with the back, and since I already have a sleeve, that means I was mere inches away from being halfway done with this sweater.

So what is the problem? Can you see it?

Aran5

How about now?

Aran5error

The really sickening thing is, the mistake isn’t even my fault. Basically, there are two places in the first and seventh rows of the chart where you do what I’ve been thinking of as "the big cable". It’s a six stitch right twisting cable, and it’s "the big cable" because all of the other cables in this sweater are worked over four stitches. The problem is that when you’re working the largest sizes of the sweater, you work the chart twice, and neither the chart or the pattern indicate that the big cable still needs to be worked when you are in the middle of the row, or in between charts. So if you work the chart as it’s written, you end up with a six stitch column of un-cabled stitches going right up the middle of the sweater.

Of course the model sweater pictured in the magazine doesn’t have this problem, probably because it is one of the smaller sizes and therefore was knit using only the center of the chart. Or maybe it’s that the test knitter was smarter than me and figured it out on her own, before knitting a foot of interlocking diamond seed stitch cables. (Bitter, party of one?)

I guess it doesn’t really matter who’s to blame. At this point, all I can do is either rip it out or learn to live with it. To rip, or not to rip? I can’t make up my mind. On the one hand, I only followed the chart as written twice before discovering the issue, and it’s pretty low on the back of the sweater. I’m sure if I just go ahead with the rest of the sweater it will be fine and it won’t be noticed from a prancing pony, or a trotting horse, or what-have-you.

Who am I kidding? I know I’m going to eventually rip it out. I’m just postponing the inevitable. Mistakes in knitting are a weird thing to me. I’m not a perfectionist by any stretch of the imagination about anything in my life, except knitting. When I make a mistake, I always go through several stages of denial (see above paragraph), and usually knit several inches past the mistake before I accept the unalterable fact that maybe I could live with it- but I don’t want to. I don’t like frogging, but I’d rather frog than live with a mistake that I know I could have fixed.

After I made the decision to rip (which was a few nights ago, since I started this post while my blogging host was having "issues"), I felt a lot better, but also realized that I wasn’t really interested in finishing the sweater I started anymore. I still love the yarn and it will definitely be a sweater eventually, but it will probably be a Central Park Hoodie instead of a Kristin Nicholas Aran Pullover. It’s bittersweet. I’m excited about the prospect of a new sweater, but sad about losing the old one.

The rest of my knitting has been all jacked up too, but I’m determined to get things back on the path to Finished-Objectdom over the rest of the weekend. Since I’ve decided that a lot of my UFOs are going in the frog pond, after I finish up a few smallish project I should be back on the proverbial straight and narrow as far as my Rotation goes, which will be a relief.

Part of getting back on track means that I need to deal with the disaster area my knitting shelf has become. No wonder I’m a mess! Chaos breeds chaos, people.
Chaos

I’ll take another picture tonight if I make any progress.  (There will be some progress!)

Just so we don’t end on a down note, I’ll say that I’m feeling a lot better since I cried me a little cry this morning, and I’m feeling confident that the upcoming week will be much brighter.

1 Comment »

  1. Tara said

    I should take pictures of my knitting/crafts area(s), I think it would make you feel ALOT better!

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

