Borders Be GONE!!

(Not the bookstore… I seriously like them.)

Ok, I am so totally sure that the Yarn Harlot does not need my help in promoting the drive to raise money for Doctors Without Borders. According to today’s post, we knitters raised over $60,000 just over the weekend! How much does that rock?

But what’s the joy of having a blog if not the opportunity to get on your soapbox a little now and then? I’ll understand if you don’t want to stick around, but if you do I promise my speech will be both quick and painless.

This year I bought my first Christmas tree, and all the other little doodads you need to make it sparkly. I set myself a budget of $100.00 to spend on my decorations, knowing that it would be far too easy to get distracted by glitter and spend my whole paycheck on ornaments and tinsel. Before I went shopping on Friday night, I happened to be checking blogs, read the the Harlot’s call to action, and decided that I would try my best to cut $10.00 out of my decoration budget to give. And guess what? My total came out to almost $90.00 exactly, and my tree did not suffer one bit.

I like to think of myself as a frugal person, but in reality, I waste money every day. I’d be willing to bet that if you’re living in a developed nation, literate enough to be reading this, and able to make a place in your budget for yarn, you’re probably right here in the same boat as me.

If you can’t afford to give, then don’t feel guilty about it for one second! Charity starts at home, and your family’s needs have to come first. But if you can afford to give, then don’t put it off! If you’re anything like me, thoughts that are not directly related to yarn tend to fall off the inner radar with fearful speed, and this isn’t something you want to forget to do!

If you live in the U.S., you can donate here.
If you live in Canada, you can donate here.
If you live somewhere else, you can donate here.

Ok, the soapbox is going away! You can come back now!

No real knitting updates, except to repeat that I am sooooo tired of Christmas knitting, and I’ll be a happy woman when new projects can come into the rotation!!!!!

Leave a Reply

