R.I.P. Halfdome, We Barely Knew Ye (Literally!)

Thanks to Liz for coming to me today concerned about the hat I was knitting at 24 stitches/inch. "What are you using? Sewing thread?"

In case anyone else was worried, this is just a stupid typo. I mean 6 stitches to the inch, which would be 24 stitches in a four inch gauge swatch. See, this hat was making me crazy!

In any case, it’s a non-issue now because I’ve given up Halfdome for the time being. I still think it’s a really cool design, and I’ll probably re-attempt it in the future, when I don’t have to worry about a deadline. (Friendly reminder: 15 days till Xmas.) 

My new plan for Bob’s knitted gift item is an Ipod cozy. Back in my early knitting days, I made the Technicolor Techno Cozy from Stitch n’ Bitch out of cheapo warshrag cotton. This was almost three years ago, and it’s in pretty bad shape now. Not to mention that I made it before I really had a good grip on the principles of gauge, and the cozy could probably fit two Ipods without stretching much. In spite of its problems, Bob likes it and has used it every day since I finished it. That kind of loyalty should earn him a much nicer cozy.
Cozy1
Cozy2
Cozy3

I googled around a little bit, but couldn’t find a cozy that really appealed to me, so I’m winging it. I actually think it’s going to work out really well, and if it does I’ll be sure to post it. I bought quite a bit of black, red and white Wildfoote sock yarn today, so I have plenty of options to experiment with. I spent quite a bit, but I feel like there’s at least 2 pairs of socks to be knit out of this, plus the Ipod cozy.
Blackredwhiteyarn

Designing and knitting up a pattern from scratch like this is still a pretty big undertaking for me with only two weeks to go until The Day, but I’m feeling good about it. I’m lucky to have a partner who really appreciates my handmade gifts, and I know that he’ll get a lot of use out of this cozy. And honestly, who can resist this face? I know I can’t!
Sillybob

Leave a Reply

