What was I thinking?

When I started working on Halfdome, I thought I knew what I was getting into. I thought I could manage to crank out a simple hat in time for Xmas, even for a guy with a big  huge gargantuan head. Gauge is 24 stitches/inch, which is pretty dense for aran weight yarn, and the pattern calls for needles in sizes 3 and 5. (The smaller size is used for the rolled brim, to prevent it from being too bulky.) As discussed previously, my gauge is exceptionally loose and my rule of thumb is to go down by two needle sizes to get gauge for most patterns. But occasionally, just every once in a while, a pattern comes along where I get gauge perfectly. And I thought that this was going to be one of those times.

I believe the phrase is, "Fools rush in." Do you see where this is going?

I cast 134 stitches onto a size 3 circular and went to town. When I got ready to change colors, I decided to check my gauge "just in case".  And what do you know? I get 24 stitches to the inch with the size 3’s. Which means, for those of you keeping score at home, that I need to be casting this hat onto a size 1. Cashmerino Aran, a worsted weight wool…. size 1 needles. It just doesn’t seem fair.   

1 Comment »

  1. Tara said

    Wow. Good luck with the drape on that…
    I guess I’m glad that I knit tightly!

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

