Clap Cam, Day 6 – and a Socktober Update

Dayfive1
Dayfive2

After almost three whole torturous Clap-free days, I finally got out to Sophie’s to buy another ball of Lion and Lamb. I didn’t have much time to work on it, but as you can see, I’ve made it the fourth dropped stitch. Wheee!!! I can confirm the rumors. Dropping the stitches is pure exhilaration. It makes those long rows worth it! Clapotis has officially grown so large that it’s somewhat unwieldy to photograph well, so excuse the crappy pictures. These were taken Wednesday, after four repeats. As of today, I’m on repeat seven of section three. It’s nice to know that I can overcome my cast on ADD, given the right pattern, yarn and motivation.

In other news, I am feeling like a big fat Socktober failure. The first Top Secret Sock is finished, and the second one is underway, but after several false starts and an ungodly amount of ripping out, many hours of work has only yielded a couple inches. Fortunately, the yarn I’m using isn’t any worse for the frogging and, at least for the time being, the sock seems to be under control.

I had hoped to finish the Top Secret Socks by the end of the month, finishing Socktober with a bang, but that doesn’t seem extremely likely. On the plus side, the birthday I’m knitting these for is actually a bit farther away than I thought, so it’s not like I don’t have time.

I can’t believe I forgot to show these until now, but I actually started another sock in Lion Brand Simply Stripes a couple weeks ago. I know, I know, I’d probably be finished with Top Secret Sock if I hadn’t cast on for the other one, but I couldn’t help it! I was hypnotized by Susan Bates! Who can resist the siren song of brand new, extra-shiny DPNs?                                                                                                 
Stripey3 I love these needles, and the yarn is pretty nice, especially for Lion Brand. I’m normally not big on self-striping yarns, but it’s kind of addictive watching the colors change all on their own. The yarn was a gift from my blogless knitting buddy, Colleen, and the needles cost a whopping three dollars. That’s cheaper than buying socks in the store! What a bargain!
 

2 Comments »

  1. Elizabeth said

    Woohoo you’re just becoming a regular sock maeven, aren’t you? I’ll see you tomorrow for sure. Like, so for sure that nothing int he world could stop me from knitting tomorrow. I’ll be there with bells on, and so will Mylea.

  2. Tara said

    I may swing by since I won’t be there Wednesday…

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

