Sophie’s Xmas Swap Questionnaire

Because apparently all I can manage to accomplish on the blog these days is respond to questionnaires…  (thanks to Stephani for paring this Xmas swap list down from the Secret Pal 9 Questionnaire.)

1. What is your favorite yarn? Is there a yarn/fiber you really hate?

As you probably already know if you’ve known me for a while, I’m a certified yarn snob and definitely prefer natural fibers. Two things I’m not so wild about are mohair (it makes me itch) and self-patterning sock yarns. Some yarns I’m very into right now are the Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock, Cascade Fixation, Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran, and anything Noro.

2. What do you use to store you needles, projects, and gadgets in?

A haphazard assortment of baskets and boxes that you can find randomly strewn about the house. Oh, and ziploc bags.

3. Do you have an Amazon wish list?

Probably, but I’m pretty sure that posting it wouldn’t be worth the time it would take to clean it up.

4. Do you like candies and sweets? Specifically…

Pretty please, no sweets, unless your goal is to destroy my diet. Yarn is sweet enough.

5. Do you practice any other crafty habits?

I’m flirting with spinning and trying to get into scrapbooking, but my primary craft is (and most likely always will be) knitting.

6. What type of music do you like? Hate? Are you MP3 compatible?

My musical tastes range far and wide. I know a lot of people who say they have eclectic tastes, but I really mean it! I enjoy punk, rap, opera, country (especially old school country like Johnny Cash), soft rock, jazz, techno, hippie folk songs, oldies, dance…. I could go on but I guess you get the point. If I had to choose an all time favorite band, I’d probably have to go with Bad Religion. (What can I say? They sing what I think.) Crossbuster I practically live on my Ipod, so yeah, I’m MP3 compatible.

7. What is your favorite color? Is there a color you don’t like so much?

I tend to be drawn to purples and pinks and bright primary colors, but I’m pretty open to anything that doesn’t resemble cat puke.

8.Do you like hats, mittens, scarves, ponchos?

Hats: Yes.
Mittens: Yes, and fingerless gloves are pretty rockin’ too.
Scarves: Yes.
Ponchos: Only if I’m entering a costume contest dressed as a sofa.

9. Do you like to receive handmade gifts?

Yes!! And I promise, I’m am a deeply satisfying knitted gift recipient. You are pretty much guaranteed that your gift will result in squealing and jumping up and down. What more could a knitter ask for?

10. What is your needle preference?

I’m on the hunt for Susan Bate’s DPN’s in sizes 3 and below. I’ve discovered that I love them for sock knitting, deeply and passionatley. Bonus: they are a bargain, usually less than three dollars a set. But I’m having trouble finding small sizes. So far all I have is a lonely set of two’s. Of course, if you have deep pockets, I love Addi Turbos and Crystal Palace bamboo straights.

11. Is there anything you collect?

I know this might be shocking but…. YARN. Also, anything to do with panda bears.

12. Are there any books, magazines or patterns you are currently coveting?

I’ve been hoping to get my hands on the Ann Norling Spiral Rib hat pattern for quite a while now. The only Elizabeth Zimmerman book I have right now is Knitting Without Tears, and I’d love to have them all. Also, this isn’t knitting related but I’m reading the Chintz ‘n China mystery series, and I have all of them except for the second book, Legend of the Jade Dragon. Tragically, the series is out of print. So if you think you might have a copy laying around, I’d love to have (or borrow) it!

13. What size are your feet?

Somewhere between sailboat and submarine.

Seriously, they’re pretty big. I usually wear a 10 or 11, depending on the brand of shoe. And I have large ankles and calves to match.

I’m the kind of person who just gets tickled at getting any kind of present, so I’m pretty easy to please. Don’t stress it too much!

Leave a Reply

