Socktober Survey!

1. When did you start making socks? Did you teach yourself or were you taught by a friend or relative? or in a class?
Last February I bought Cat Bordhi’s Socks Soar on Two Circular Needles and I was off to the races!

2. What was your first pair?  How have they “held up” over time?
Technically, my first pair of socks was the Jazz Socks from Weekend Knitting, but I think they barely count because they’re basically just a knitted tube that you graft at the end and then put in an afterthought heel. Jazz1
Jazz2

They have all of the classic beginning sock knitter mistakes: one is about twice the size of the other, one of the heels looks like it was grafted inside out, and the cuffs are so tight that wearing them for more than a few minutes might result in the need to amputate a leg or two. But my feeling is, the first time you knit socks, if you get something that even remotely resembles something that might fit someone’s foot…. you’ve succeeded.

Still, I consider these my first real pair.

3. What yarns have you particularly enjoyed?
I have pretty limited experience with sock yarns so far, but I can tell you that I don’t enjoy knitting with Fortissima sock yarn, though it does seem to be holding up pretty well even with repeated machine washing and drying. I’m really drawn to Koigu, Mountain Colors, Lorna’s Laces, and Socks That Rock for their fascinating colors.

4. Do you like to crochet your socks? or knit them on DPNs, 2 circulars, or using the Magic Loop method?
Well, I learned using the 2 circulars so that’s the method I know best, but I’m never opposed to trying new techniques. I’m in the process of learning how to use DPNs, which is proving to be a lot of fun. I love my new Susan Bate DPN’s! They’re awesome!

5. Which kind of heel do you prefer?  (flap? or short-row?)
Once again, I haven’t done anything but a heel flap yet. I think short row heels look better, but I have concerns about them being kind of fidgety to knit, and also about their durability.

6. How many pairs have you made?
You mean I can’t count individual socks? To date I’ve completed 2 pairs, and that’s counting the Jazz disaster socks. But I have a lot of socks that either don’t have a mate yet or I stopped and pulled off the needles halfway through for one reason or the other.

Sss_ribbon_1

Leave a Reply

