Louie

Yarnonlouie   
Louienaturwolle

I had planned to do a "big" post tonight, but once again, life intereferes with my plans. Unfortunately, tonight’s ordeal is a little more serious than my computer crapping out.

My cat, Fat Louie, is in critical condition at the animal hospital. To make a long story short, he had a blockage in his urinary tract that caused his urine to back up and get into his bloodstream, which can be very toxic for cats. It’s up in the air right now whether he’ll live through it at all, and if he does, there will be long term repercussions. He’s going to be in the hospital for at least another day or two. After he gets home, he’ll have to be on a special diet, take medications, and be closely monitored for relapses for the rest of his life.

Needless to say, I am an emotional wreck. Louie and Jet are family to me, and I would be heartbroken to lose either. I can’t even describe how worried I am. I feel so guilty for not taking him to the vet sooner. He’d been acting more lethargic than usual for the last couple days, but I thought it was just a kitty mood swing if anything. Because the cats share a litter box, it’s hard to tell who did what, if you catch my drift. And beyond the emotional strain, the charge for the emergency care and hospital stay are likely going to be in the thousands- not exactly something that we budgeted for.

I apologize for getting all "heavy" on y’all. I’ll keep updating on Louie’s status. I know I’m not really the "thoughts and prayers" type, but for Louie’s sake, I’ll ask: please keep Louie in your thoughts and prayers tonight. He needs all the positive energy he can get. And Louie never tries to eat my needles. He’s a great yarn model! Everything a knitter could ask for in a cat. I know my fellow knitters (especially those of you with cats) understand. Louie is just not replaceable.

4 Comments »

  1. Tara said

    Get better, Louie!!!
    I can’t imagine what condition I would be in if anything happened to Tramp…

  2. mery said

    oh Holly! I hope Louie gets better. My prayers are definetly with him and you tonight. Please keep me posted!

  3. OOOh my lovely and dear friend… All my prayers, love and best wishes ever are all for Louie ! Enormous smooches 🙂

  4. Elizabeth said

    The Gabes will keep their fingers (and paw toes) crossed for Louie!

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

