Shake Your Booties!

The baby kimono is all done except for sewing the ribbons on to the bottom. I think it came out pretty good, all things considered, but I don’t think I’ll be making another one in the near future. (Model: Destiny the Cabbage Patch Kid. Ain’t she sweet?) The Cotton Tots yarn blocked up really nice and soft, and I recommend you try it if you haven’t. I believe it normally retails between three and four dollars a ball for 171 yards. BARGAIN!!

Destinykimono1_1
Destinykimono2
Destinykimono3_1

So far, I’ve finished one bootie and am speeding through another. Unfortunately, I’m having some serious doubts that they are going to fit the baby at all. I bound off too tightly at the top of the bootie and I think it might be too hard to get over a baby’s foot. But I’m not positive, since I have very limited experience with baby feet. I’m going to try to bind off more loosely on bootie number two, and if that turns out more elastic than I’ll just make another one. They don’t take more than an hour from cast on to seaming up anyhow, so it’s not a huge loss.

Booties2

I can’t wait till Wednesday night! "Knit Night" as we call it here at Casa de Golightly is definitely the best night of the week. I know some knitters don’t have a knitting circle, but I just don’t see how they survive on their own. It’s a tough, pointy (or hooky) world out there! You need partners in crime accomplices great knitting buddies to get you through the Valley of the Shadow of Endless Stockinette.

6 Comments »

  1. Elizabeth said

    Your kimono looks awesome! I finished mine yesterday, and you’ll never guess… My Build-A-Bear kitty is wearing it! I cracked up when I saw your pics of the CP wearing yours. Great minds… or something like that. See ya tomorrow!

  2. Elizabeth said

    Oh yeah and what booty pattern are you doing? I’ve actually never made a booty and would like to make a pair with my leftover kimono yarn.

  3. Tara said

    Too cute.
    Yep. Knitting circle is a great thing… its always good to have an alibi…

  4. jessie said

    Everybody needs a Circle. You never know when we’ll have to rise up in a revolution.

  5. Stephani said

    Yep, Knit Club is great – but remember, the first rule of Knit Club is “You do not talk about Knit Club” And the booties – luverly!

  6. Mery said

    Sorry I missed you guys tonight but NOT because of my dancing show but because of my biological mom visiting.
    Your kimono is so CUTE!!!! And btw baby’s feet are tiny, tiny, tiny!!! Did it fit the cabbage patch’s foot? I’m not sure if that’s a good reference…do they have feet or rounded stomps? …anyway, baby’s feet are very tiny.
    I’ll stop by on sunday even if it’s just for 1/2 an hour. I have such few days left I don’t want to waste any precious minutes hanging out w/my knitting ladies.

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

