Epiphany

e·piph·a·ny

a.        A
sudden manifestation of the essence or meaning of something.
b.        A
comprehension or perception of reality by means of a sudden intuitive realization:
“I experienced an epiphany, a spiritual flash that would change the way
I viewed myself” (Frank Maier).

I just realized that there is a paralell
between the way I approach my relationships and the way I approach knitting
sweaters.

1. Both my relationships and my sweaters
are usually long term commitments.

2. It’s very, very hard for me to stick
with just one the whole time. I’m not saying it can’t be done, it’s just
that it very rarely has been done.

3. They tend to "just happen"
and are never very well thought out beforehand.

4. Even when I know that there is no
possible way
that it could work out, I will fight my fate to the
bitter end. Denial- it’s not a river in Egypt.

5. Both experiences are filled with
emotional highs and lows. I am occasionally tempted to get out a big pair
of scissors.

6. I start with a great deal of gusto,
then get frustrated and bored until inevitably something more interesting
comes along. And when it does, good luck keeping me from running to it.

7. Something about it will bug me. I
will ignore it and hope that it will either go away or that I’ll get over
it, even though I know I will never really be over it. When I eventually
do have to deal with whatever my problem is, the fact that I’ve avoided
it for so long makes it that much more painful. <!–
D([“mb”,”\n
\n
8. Even though I know all of this stuff,\nI do the same thing over and over again. \n
\n
Thank you,
\n
\nHolly Harville
\nMTV Claims
\n
\n"The animals of the world exist for their own reasons. They were not\nmade for humans any more than black people were made for white, or women\ncreated for men."
\nAlice Walker
\n\n
\n\nThe information transmitted is intended only for the person or entity \nto which it is addressed and may contain CONFIDENTIAL material. If you \nreceive this material/information in error, please contact the sender \nand delete or destroy the material/information.\n\n\n\n

“,0]
);
D([“ce”]);
//–>

8. Even though I know all of this stuff,
I’ll probably keep right on doing it.

3 Comments »

  1. Tara said

    I believe these are symptoms of “process knitting” as opposed to “product knitting”.
    All goes OK here. Sawyer really doesn’t like Bill, but I’ve managed to get ahold of a local Basenji breeder who’s going to help me find either her home or a home. Good news there.

  2. jessie said

    yeah, i totally agree.

  3. elizabeth said

    i do it too… i thought i’d gotten over it, briefly, and had a rash of finished things. suddenly i find myself with 78439 projects going again. i blame it on the warshrags.

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

