I Give Up!

I am waving the white flag of customized blog layout. Enough is enough! I’d rather be blogging than trying to figure out how to make my blog look exactly the way I want it to. I succumb to the temptation of pre-designed themes with no shame.

Especially since I have some serious blogging to catch up on! First, some pictures that I couldn’t post last time:

Fat Louie and Bob. Guess which one is the boyfriend and which one is the cat and get a prize!  Boblouie

Dishcloth Mania:
Reddish
Multidishback
Dishcloths

Ok, this next one is just me (nothing particurally exciting) but it’s me at 317 pounds!! After nearly a month of being 319, I seem to be out of my weight loss slump. 2 more pounds until I’ve officially lost 10% of my starting weight. Hooray!

Golightly1

Moving forward: So far it’s been a very dramatic week. I set off for Highland Coffee yesterday afternoon for my regular weekend dose of Sunday knitting, which was pretty much business as usual. You know, knitting, stimulating coversation, trucks on fire… oh wait… FLAMING TRUCKS is not on the normal Sunday afternoon schedule! Especially not when the flaming truck in question is about 10 feet away from MY CAR!! Eek! There wasn’t anyone in the flaming truck and frankly, I was a lot more worried about my car blowing up than the truck owner. I watched the flames grow higher and higher from the deck, all the time wondering, "Exactly what is my deductible?"

Fortunately, the fire department arrived and the truck did not explode. My car is fine. I still don’t know what my deductible is.

After all the fiery truck drama was over, I headed home and started making a fairly elaborate dinner- Faux Fried Chicken, Vegan Macaroni and Cheese, Biscuits and Corn on the Cob- all from scratch, all in my tiny apartment kitchen. I put on a pot of water to boil and within seconds smoke was pouring out from under the burner. That’s right- my very first kitchen fire! It didn’t turn out to be a huge deal. I just threw some baking soda on it and it died down pretty fast. But I did learn a valuable lesson about the importance of cleaning under the burners on a semi-regular basis.

See, nobody every told me you had to clean those things out. I suspected that it might be important, but when I first tried to get the electric coils to come off and couldn’t pry them loose, I gave up. Well, after the whole fire thing, I was motivated to try again and it wasn’t nearly as complicated as it looked. In retrospect, it’s a wonder I hadn’t started a fire before this. There was a lot of charred-beyond-recognition stuff down there. I’m happy to say that any kitchen fires I might start in the future will be the result of me forgetting dinner on the stove- not long-forgotten dinner remnants under the stove. (Oh, and in case you’re wondering- dinner was fab and totally worth the fire, and the 2.5 hours it took me to make it.)

Today’s drama didn’t involve fire, but Louie. I took the day off, so after sleeping in and taking a nice long shower, I let Jet out on the deck, made my breakfast, and once I saw that the had returned to the inside, I closed the deck door and went about my business. Louie had an appointment at 2 pm to get a microchip installed at the vet. So about 1:30, I got out the cat carrier and went to find Fat Louie.

Louie was nowhere to be found. I wasn’t too worried, because ever since we brought him home, we’ve noticed that he likes to hide- under the bed, under the bathroom counter… pretty much, anywhere his fat ass can fit. I checked all the normal places- no Louie. I checked some really abnormal places- kitchen cabinets, the refrigerator, all the closets. Still, no Louie.

That’s when it occured to me- the deck. Even though Louie has shown absolutely no interest in going out on the deck… somehow, he must have slipped out without me knowing. And we live on the third floor of our apartment building. Not good. So I ran out to the deck- no Louie. I looked over the edge, fearing the worst- but no Louie. Then I was really panicking. I was thinking, "Oh my god, he’s fallen off the deck and hurt himself and crawled off somewhere to hide and he’ll die and I’ll never find him in time!" So I ran downstairs with a can of cat treats, shaking them like crazy and calling for him. He was nowhere in sight.

I came back upstairs in tears, beating myself up inside for being such an irresponsible kitty mother. I just knew Louie was somewhere out there, scared and hurt, and I couldn’t find him anywhere. I felt beyond terrible. And what was I going to tell the vet? That I lost the frigging cat before he could even be microchipped?!? I figured they would probably take Jet away from me because I obviously was not fit to take care of anything. Oh, the depths of my despair.

So, when I got back to the apartment, I enlisted Bob to help me go back over the apartment with a fine toothed comb. At some point in the search, we decided to lift up the couch. And guess what? Louie was under the couch the whole time. Don’t ask me how he got under there, because he is way too big to have comfortably squeezed under it. But I was so relieved to see his furry little face, I decided not to question the physics of the situation. We even made our appointment on time.

After all that, I’m kind of nervous about the rest of the week. Stay tuned to see what bizzarness will ensue….

3 Comments »

  1. Tara said

    Apparently, your kittie owner’s manual left out the section on defying laws of physics. Silly stuff like being able to hog up 10X more space than should be physically possible, yet being able to squeeze into small holes that a mouse couldn’t get into.
    Also, big hug and kudos for breaking your plateau!
    🙂

  2. jessie said

    i’m sure you’re a great kitty mommy! (hey, at least you feed your kids…)

  3. Mery said

    Holly! OMG I’m glad you, your car and Louie are fine. And let me tell you, you look SOOOOOOOO CUTE in that picture!!! Totally digging the pig tail and the pink shirt on you!!!! Sorry I couldn’t make it on sunday but it was the final of the world cup and I really don’t want to talk about it because it was a very painful final for me and all the people in France. I was planning on going today but Alex said he had a work dinner to go to and he ended up not going but it was too late to go to sophie’s! I miss you guys too!!!!!! Hope I can make it next wend.!! And again, you look awesome!!!!!!!!

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

