Weekend of Vengeance

There’s a lot going on this weekend at Casa de Golightly (unfortunately, no pics because the camera’s batteries are dead as a doornail, but I’ll try to get something up tonight:

  • Friday night, Bob and I drove down to Nashville for the opening of Sympathy for Lady Vengeance, a film by our favorite director, Chan Wook-Park. Yep, we are officially movie nerds. It was totally worth the trip. I would say you should definitely watch it if you get the chance, but I’ll warn you that it’s pretty hard to watch in places. Kidnapping, murder, torture, and ummm… vengeance. Lots of vengeance. Now that I’ve scared you off by confessing to what kind of movies I’m willing to drive three hours to see…
  • I’ll redeem myself by telling you that when we got home, we went straight to our local animal shelter and added Fat Louie to our family. When the volunteer was taking us
    back to see the cats up for adoption, she asked us if we wanted a
    bigger or smaller cat. We said, "Probably bigger." Well, let’s just say
    you get what you ask for. Fat Louie is definitely not a misnomer. I think he might need to be my new Weight Watchers buddy. Jet seems to have mixed feelings. He hisses at Louie, but then he runs away. This is probably wise, since Louie is roughly twice his size. The cool thing is, Louie couldn’t possibly care less. He’s just minding his own business and doesn’t seem interested in a fight at all. He’s super laid back, and that’s perfect because Jet is super hyper. The shelter people told me that someone just put him in a box and left him outside the doorstep. I can’t imagine abandoning this guy, or any cat for that matter.
  • Knitting has not actually occurred since Friday afternoon, because Lady Vengeance wasn’t the kind of movie you could really pay attention to and knit at the same time. My log cabin afghan is growing at an alarming rate, and unfortunately I don’t think it’s suitable for travel anymore. So tonight I went to Ben Franklin and bought more Sugar and Cream dishcloth cotton then I could knit in months. (It’s ok because it’s now officially July and my yarn diet for June is OVER!)

Pumpkinhat_1

There have been requests (ok, ok, just one request, but let’s not be picky) for the pattern for my pumpkin hat. Stephani mentioned wanting to knit it for Jeanne’s breastfeeding promotional event this August, as mentioned in this post on the Yarn Harlot’s blog. I’m going to go ahead and post the original pattern as I wrote it. I have to warn her (and anyone else who wants to make a hat like this for the babies of the world) that I made it in Lamb’s Pride Bulky and it fits my big head, so it’s not entirely suitable for a baby in its current incarnation.

I think the key to resizing it is going to be GAUGE. (I think GAUGE should always be in all caps; Elizabeth Zimmerman does it in her chapter on GAUGE in Knitting Without Tears and she is never wrong.) I cast on 64 stitches in this bulky wool on size 10 1/2 needles, and it came out big enough to fit an adult. But I know that when I make baby hats (for example, the Umbilical Cord hats) I cast on 64 stitches in a worsted weight yarn and it comes out baby head sized. So I think that if you follow the basic instructions for the pumpkin hat and just change the yarn and the needle size, and a few key numbers, it’ll come out fine. I’m going to test out my theory and I’ll put up the re-sized baby pumpkin hat pattern too. But Steph is a smart, strong, beautiful woman and she can figure it out for herself, right?

I’ll put up a PDF of this when I work out all the kinks, but for now…

Pumpkin Hat

Yarn: Lamb’s Pride Bulky, 1 skein each orange and green
Needles: Size 10.5 16 in. circular needle
4 or 5 size 10.5 double pointed needles
GAUGE: about 3 st/in, but not critical due to the nature of the ribbing

CO 64 stitches with the orange yarn. Place marker and join into a round, being careful not to twist. K3, P1 all the way around until you get to the marker, and then just continue with the established ribbing pattern until you’ve knit about 5 inches. (Actually, for an adult hat you should probably knit 9 inches, but I think I ran out of yarn.)

At the beginning of the next round, change to the green yarn and knit one round. You’ll be knitting in stockinette stitch for the stem. Use whatever kind of decreasing method you like to shape the top of the hat, changing to double pointed needles when necessary, until you have 4 stitches left.

Arrange those last four stitches so that they’re all on one of your double pointed needles, and make an i-cord. After you have about 2 inches of i-cord, decrease one stitch (you should have three on the needles) and continue the i-cord until you think it’s done.

It’s nice to make it long enough so that it will curl under a little. Or alternatively, you could make it short and stubby and that would be cute too. BO your last three stitches and weave in the ends. Wear your pumpkin hat in public and watch everyone stare at you. Don’t worry, they’re just jealous.

If you have any trouble understanding my pattern (and you probably will, because I’m far from a profession at this), feel free to email me or leave a comment, and I’ll try to clarify. Or, if you’re lucky enough to know me in person, I’ll be happy to help you with it at my regularly scheduled knitting times on Wednesday or Sunday!

1 Comment »

  1. Steph said

    I am a strong beautiful woman, but (pulls string) “Math is hard. Let’s go shopping!” Ok, hopefully I’m not the only one who remebers that Barbie. And if you decide you want to add another cat to the family, I have two lovely kitties that really do need a better home….

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

