Knitting for Charity, or Things That Aren’t as Boring as I Thought

CardibackAs you can see, the back of the Accordion cardigan is finished. (Notice Jet suspiciously lurking near the yarn. Fortunately, I rescued the knitting from the cat before things got ugly.)

My goal is to have it completed by next Friday night, ensuring that it will be ready to ship out on Saturday morning. If anybody in the area has anything they’d like to contribute to the Dulaan project (come on guys, I know you have time to whip up a wool hat or something- no pressure!) let me know and I’ll be happy to throw it in with my stuff and cover the shipping.

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m not great as a charity knitter, but this project hasn’t been at all painful. I think the key is to

  • Pick a project that you think looks interesting, but might not ordinarily knit.
  • Do something different- experiment with colors or stitch pattern or just a technique you haven’t tried before. Everyone benefits- you get to try something new, and someone else gets the fruits of your labor.
  • Don’t put too much pressure on yourself. Even if you’re knitting for a charity project with a deadline, keep in mind that if you don’t finish quite on schedule, you can always donate it somewhere else. There are tons of worthy causes you can knit for.
  • Make sure it’s fun for you. If it’s something tedious (like say, 25 identical ribbed hats), you’re going to hate it and probably never finish.

In non-knitting news, Friday is weigh-in day at the Golightly household, and I am happy to report that I’m down to 318 lbs- a staggering total of 32 pounds lost. (Well, it’s a staggering total to me anyway.) I only have 3 more pounds to go before I’ve met my initial weight loss goal of 10% of my total starting weight. And that means… PEDICURE!!!

Before I sign off here (time for a healthy, refreshing swim!), I wanted to say CONGRATULATIONS TO LIZ AND DAVID ON THEIR WEDDING! I wish you all the best in life and love! Good luck! (And try to stop freaking out Liz… I know you won’t, but at least try!)

2 Comments »

  1. Colleen Craft said

    Holly, congratulations on your weight loss. I am proud of you. It is a hard thing to do. I hope to see you all on Sunday at the coffee shop. Colleen

  2. Mery said

    SUPER congrats Holly!!!! You are looking great!!!

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

